36 Palo Alto, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to the Bay Area six and a half years ago after growing up in Massachusetts, going to college in New Hampshire, living and teaching English in France and China, working in Boston, and going to grad school in NYC. I'm still quite enamored with 4-season climates that include fall foliage, snowstorms, and humidity, but of course I enjoy the CA sunshine.

I love languages and have dabbled in many, but my passion (and employment) lies in teaching French to high school students. I find it very rewarding to see them learn, to work through their difficulties with them, and to figure out how I can make my lessons innovative, enjoyable, and challenging. I also end up having some funny stories to tell daily.

I suppose I am a bit on the intellectual side but really do just like observing and analyzing the world around me, talking and laughing, eating in good company, cuddling, exploring the world both near and far, and having someone special to share it with. I'm pretty low key and prefer to be dressed casually than to wear heels. I like both sleeping in and getting up early-ish to take advantage of daylight. I am a yes person and prefer to be too busy than to have too much down time.
What I’m doing with my life
As mentioned above, I've got a job I love teaching French in a public high school. In my free time, I can be found jogging, doing yoga, hiking/backpacking, cross-country skiing (used to be on the team in high school and college in New England), cooking/baking (I make a mean butternut squash soup, among other things), and reading. I like learning new things and have much improvement to make in salsa dancing, violin playing, film criticism, and other fields I probably haven't even thought about yet.
I’m really good at
learning languages, cooking delicious food, taking advantage of good weather (I'm from the East Coast, so I don't see sunshine as something to take for granted)
The first things people usually notice about me
I'll go with my ease in opening up, and my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Half of a Yellow Sun, The Poisonwood Bible, Le Petit Prince, Cutting for Stone, Crime and Punishment, The Orchardist

Movies: Forrest Gump, Love Actually, Amelie, The Red Violin, Shawshank Redemption

Food: Indian, Thai, Japanese, Mediterranean, brunch, bagels, fruit, veggies, pizza, creative salads, chocolate!!!
The six things I could never do without
- good company who really get me
- variety of tasty food and ingredients at my fingertips
- fresh air
- physical activity
- travel opportunities
- dessert!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I'm going to eat; my students; where I will go on my next vacation; how to take advantage of the CA outdoors; what makes people tick.
On a typical Friday night I am
cooking a tasty meal for myself and/or friends, watching a movie, going out to dinner, playing board games, hanging out with my roommate
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I clean my apartment as a form of procrastination.
You should message me if
- are easy-going and think you'll make me laugh
- enjoy the outdoors and traveling
- love good food of all sorts and are adventurous about trying new things
- like good, intelligent conversation
- are truly looking for a real relationship