chaike
64 Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
chaike
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been a nature buff all my life. Being in woods, under open sky, in or by oceans or lakes restores my soul.

I love hiking, biking, kayaking, x-country/down-hill skiing, tennis, swimming, dancing, yoga, watching documentaries, Jon Stewart, Robert Krulwich, Larry David.

My energy level is high. I'm warm, loving, demonstrative, and fun.

I have a great desire for travel and exploration. I've biked, paddled, hiked, and explored many places, but still much to see and do. I'm looking for a soul-mate, travel companion, life partner, confidante, best friend, and lover(great kissers please apply), to share all of my future adventures. Whether it's visiting a great city, hiking in the woods, or cooking in my kitchen, it's more fun sharing the experience.

Although I love travel and adventure. I'm also a home-body. I love to take baths, cook creative(organic) meals, watch movies in bed and read in my hammock on my screen porch surrounded by my trees, plants, and flowers.

I have a quick wit and an intellectual appetite that thrives with lots of stimulation. You get extra points if you're into NPR, NYT, PBS, "Fresh Air", "Radio Lab", and "This American Life".

I'm attracted to men who are kind; honest; happy; good communicators; fit; emotionally available; smart; well-informed; well-read; loving; touch, kiss, and laugh easily.

Most likely our differences will be too great if you vote Republican.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a retired clinical social worker (last job was working on army bases overseas counseling soldiers). I volunteer for Red Cross doing disaster mental health, exercise daily, and attend lots of lectures, plays, and documentaries. My kids live far away and I am retired, so I am more than willing to relocate for the right person. I've been here since graduate school and I'm ready for a change anyway.
I’m really good at
...being a participant rather than just an observer in life.
The first things people usually notice about me
Perhaps you'll tell me after we meet.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
King Leopold's Ghost, Secret Life of Bees, From the Land of Green Ghosts, and Fiasco. I loved Philip Roth's, 'Patrimony" and most things by Bill Bryson, Samantha Power, and Jon Krakauer.
I have a long list of favorite documentaries and two outstanding non-docs: 'The Lives of Others' and 'Ordinary People'.
I love theater, Mozart operas, the Blues and big band music of the 40's. I sing along with Broadway musicals and 60's music (you've been warned).
The six things I could never do without
I could live without these things if I had to, but life wouldn't be as much fun:
intellectual stimulation
a lover/ life partner/physical and emotional intimacy
travel
physical activity
fresh fruit and veggies
close friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Tikkun Olam: man's inhumanity to man and the environment.
On a typical Friday night I am
My preference would be to share the evening with a loving partner. What I do isn't as important as with whom I am spending my time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I twisted with Sammy Davis, Jr. at the Latin Casino when I was 10 in front of 3000 people.
You should message me if
You share at least a few of my interests and much of what I wrote resonates with you.
More