52 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Although I am outgoing, smart, witty, fun, spontaneous and have a dizzying array of diverse interests both indoors and out, I have been appallingly ineffective at finding friends and/or long term relationships; putting most of my romantic notions temporarily on the shelf, I have turned myself over to the statistics geeks (and I mean that in the best possible way). I love hiking, camping, etc., but also clubs, dancing, and live local music. I like to cook and be cooked for, I enjoy all types of art and culture, and I'm game for almost anything. If this makes me sound typical I apologize, but distilling your personality down to a couple sentences is difficult and inaccurate at best. I assure you, I am not typical.

I am eclectic, passionate, and witty
What I’m doing with my life
After working for many years in Corporate America (8+ years in the health insurance division -ugh- plus many years in other random office-y things) I finally took the plunge and changed careers. I am now working in social service, and trying to deal with the financial (and emotional) hit that this kind of work entails. As for other stuff, I seem to be a collection of contradictions: reading and hiking, clubbing and crocheting, live music and horseback riding, gardening and salsa dancing....I'm pretty passionate about lefty causes, especially homelessness (I volunteered at a shelter for 5 years), social justice, political reform and the environment. Trying to do more social stuff (collect more friends for all kinds of activities), do more artsy stuff (photography and making jewelry), and maybe do more stuff that might make a difference. Or maybe I should just concentrate on trying to keep the house from looking like a disaster area. Whatever.
I’m really good at
Amateur psychotherapy, intuitive massage and baking pies.
The first things people usually notice about me
Going by what other people have said, physically my legs. Personality-wise, my loud laugh or the fact that I will laugh at almost anything.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
(a)I have to pick a favorite? No way. Most recent ones that hit me hard were "The Giant's House" by Elizabeth McCracken and "Bel Canto" by Ann Patchett. Favorite non-fiction is "The Omnivore's Dilemma". I love Palahniuk, and Terry Pratchett's 'Discworld' series. Guilty pleasure is anything by Stephen King. I will read anything with words printed on it. (b)All-time favorite old movie - "The Manchurian Candidate" (the *original*, of course). More modern favorites - "Leaving Las Vegas", "Ghost World", "Being John Malkovich", "Lost in Translation" and "Donnie Darko" to name a few. (c)I can find at least a couple examples of music I like in virtually every category, but my faves are alternative (whatever that means anymore), jazz, blues, and R&B/soul; I am a devoted listener of KEXP, especially the morning show (John rules), and KPLU, and I love going to live shows. (d)I consider myself a foodie (but not in an elitist way) and am pretty adventurous in my tastes. From the exotic (Thai, Vietnamese, Ethiopian, Indian, etc.) to the more traditional (Country French, Italian, Chinese) to comfort food (mac & cheese, pot roast, homemade pie), I love it all and love to find new favorites.
The six things I could never do without
My house, my cat, my 1963 Plymouth Valiant convertible, books, music, love of all kinds.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Our broken political system, how it got this bad, and how we will ever be able to redeem it when 80% of the country is either too apathetic or in too much denial.

Why eating crap or stuff flown in from Chile is cheaper than eating locally grown organic.

How it is that functioning adults can successfully get through 16+ years of schooling and still not be able to spell, punctuate or use words correctly.

I think of other stuff too, though.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either going out (dinner, movie, dancing, live music, etc.) or staying in to make dinner and watch TV or a movie to let my poor tired brain rest, although I must confess that in the past few years it's been more of the latter and less of the former due to lack of money and motivation, but I am really ready to change that.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have been both a cheerleader and a sorority girl. At one point, both at the same time.
(Beware of how you characterize me based on this information...)
You should message me if
you think I'm interesting (duh). It would also be lovely if you like to do stuff, enjoy participating in spirited conversation, are adventurous and spontaneous, and are generally happy with who you are.

I welcome anyone who wants to converse with me and I try not to have any categories I consider "deal-breakers" (I try to evaluate each person/situation individually), but there are views/habits/attributes that very likely won't work with me, especially in terms of a romantic relationship: polyamory(really, really not interested), extreme right-wing conservatives, smoking(this one might be negotiable), militant vegetarians/vegans, people whose *predominant* literary/entertainment preference is Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and anyone who spends more than 25% of their free time in front of a computer.

*female (or male) friend candidates are also encouraged to apply*