cherflip
54Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cherflip
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Widowed now for just over 6 years - and I seriously thought I'd never make it. My four amazing children continue to give me a reason to get up each and every day. It's been hard, but I'm starting to learn to live again.....slowly.

**Disclaimer: I've learned early in life to never judge a book by its cover. So if YOU are looking for a swimsuit model, then I am definitely NOT for you. (I say this early so you won't have to waste your time reading through anymore of this!!)

I enjoy hanging out with friends, listening to live music - any and all kinds, trying new restaurants, traveling, playing with my nieces and nephews - who I absolutely adore and spoil any chance I get.

I'm a people-person and I'm always willing to help. I try to donate, both time and money, to my church and as many charities as possible - as I'm always trying to "pay-it-forward".

I love laughing loud, singing off-key, watching sunrises/sunsets, acting goofy with my god-children (I have a total of 8), pop-up dance parties in the kitchen with my daughters, any and all Chicago sports - especially the Blackhawks, Cubs and Bears.

My husband's death has taught me that life is full of moments in need of memories, to live each day as if it were your last, to never put off to tomorrow what you can do today and to tell all the people in your life you love them - very often and very loud. Although my life is still a blank canvas, I'm finally picking up a brush and starting to learn how to paint.
What I’m doing with my life
Although it's been six years, I'm still just trying to make it "one day at a time". But a few things that help me with this is....

Spending time at our lakehouse up in Wisconsin that I purchased a few years ago. It's close enough to get to for a quick 4 day weekend, but far enough away to make it feel like a mini-vacation.

Hanging out with my "puppy" that I rescued in 2013. Payton is almost 4 years old now and she's a German Shepard/Rottweiler mix. She weighs about 55 pounds but thinks she's a "puppy" and a lap-dog. She's very smart and will give you a "hug" on command. Pay-Pay was named after the late/great Chicago Bears superstar, and definitely has a "Sweetness" about her. She lives part-time with me and part-time with my youngest daughter in Indiana, mostly because she can't be separated from my "grand-puppy" Lily, who my daughter rescued while in college and is also a GS/Rottie mix.

Watching my kids as they move on with their lives. All four have all put their own lives on hold - waiting to see how I will do. Seeing them move forward helps me realize that I've come a long way toward moving on as well.
I’m really good at
Raising my kids. Everyday I get another request from friends (and family) for them to drop off their child(ren) for me to "fix". I find it funny, but will not hesitate to admit that my kids are pretty darn great!! (In full disclosure - my late husband played a big part how our kids turned out. He was the bad cop to my good cop!!)
The first things people usually notice about me
That I look younger than I am. I done having my children by the time I turned 30, so I was able to "grow up with my kids, not old". (And YES, I really am 54!!)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm embarrassed to admit that I'm not much of a reader, and most of the things I read are off the Internet.

Most movies/tv shows that I watch are on Netflix/HULU, because I feel it's a waste of money for me to go to a theater....as soon as its dark, I fall asleep! But I do love 'live' theater, which tends to keep me awake a bit longer! (Excited to see "Hamilton" in November!!)

I'm an 80's girl, so I'm into the "hair-bands". I also LOVE Country music. For the past six summers, I've been a VIP season ticket holder to Hollywood Casino Amphitheater (formerly First Midwest Bank Amphitheater) in Tinley Park, and just renewed my seats for this summer. I can easily go to 25-30 concerts a year. Two concerts that I'm really looking forward to seeing this summer is Styx, as they were the very first concert that I went to in 1977 and Luke Bryan, who I will see live for the 20th time!!

I'm a vegetarian/pescatarian. I stopped eating red meat when I was pregnant with my youngest son, about 26 years ago. My last pork/chicken/turkey meals were about 25 years ago.
Six things I could never do without
My oldest son/new daughter-in-law
My oldest daughter
My youngest daughter
My youngest son
My grand-pup Lily (who was a rescue)
My pup-daughter Payton (also a rescue)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future.
On a typical Friday night I am
No Friday is "typical" in my house!!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The future scares me.....
You should message me if
You're looking for a new friendship. I'm still not ready for anything more right now, but I won't rule anything out in the future. I just need to take things slow. If that's not something you're looking for then I must apologize to you - in that you had to waste time reading through all this.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Sex
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Religion