32Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an active-outdoorsy type of woman and looking for someone who can compliment my busy and awesome lifestyle. I love the outdoors and enjoying a sunny, summer day at a Chicago street festival (there are so many great things to do in Chicago in the summer), going running on a Saturday morning, riding my bicycle, going to a restaurant or bar that's new to me, and making a laughingstock of myself playing any number of sports badly!

Really though, I love sports even if I am bad at them. I've played Softball, WhirleyBall (I'm now doing this a second time), and Volleyball and this summer I ran the Chicago Marathon for Team to End Aids (a charity team). I would like to do more outdoor things like hiking, sailing, or rock climbing, but haven't found the time for those yet).

I am a person that is up for almost anything and I like to try new things around the city. Going to a comedy club, karaoke, farmer's market, festival, or even wandering aimlessly around a neighborhood looking at different local shops or stumbling across an amazing, small neighborhood restaurant sounds like a great time to me.

I'm also up for a quiet night in, watching a great Netflix movie with a friend, and some beer to drink.

I also like to have deep intellectual conversations with friends and people that I date on a variety of topics (if you consider yourself to be nerdy or dorky and listen to NPR or TED talks bonus points for you!!!

*Side note: I'm not really keeping score. That was just my attempt to be funny. I'm terrible at making jokes, but very good at appreciating them and also laughing at myself- I think having self-depreciating humor is important! It means that you don't take yourself and life to seriously.

I'm a vegetarian. Sautéed veggies, pasta, cheeses and smoothies are a mainstay of my diet and while I love to cook my skills are not as honed as I would like. Perhaps you can teach me a few things in the kitchen, I really enjoy a man who knows his way around a kitchen; and don't worry you don't have to be veggie, just respect the fact that I am.

Aside from veggies, I devour knowledge as well. I'm always reading a new find from the library (while I pick up books on dinosaurs for my preschoolers), checking out the Colbert report to stay on top of politics and current events or watching any one of my favorite shows.

I'm also a fan of Settlers of Catan (among other board games) as well as Apples to Apples and Cards Against Humanity. So if you play BONUS!
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm a preschool teacher for ages 3-5 and I stay active with sports, nightlife, and running.
I’m really good at
- I'm a huge board game fan (read: borderline nerd).
-Air hockey
-sliding around wooden floors with my socks on (yes, this is a skill!)
-eating an apple for breakfast while running to the train with 20 lbs. of stuff (yes, this is also a skill!!)
-I have a heart that's full of compassion and I'm always quick with a sincere laugh and a huge warm smile.
- I'm an understanding person with a positive attitude, I usually see the good in people and situations as opposed to focusing on the negative.
-Lest we forget my kick ass Asian stir fry and pizza-these are the only two things I can make really well- boo-hoo-hoo :(
The first things people usually notice about me
I have long dark hair (that can be a little unruly at times). People usually notice my freckles right off the bat as well.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite classics: To Kill a Mockingbird and The Grapes of Wrath

Right now I'm reading a lot of science fiction (just read the Hunger games trilogy and a vampire book, currently reading: Timeline and The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (I'll probably read Game of Thrones next since I've been meaning to get into it)

Movies: This list could go on forever!
Favorite recent movie i saw: Life of Pi
Favorite movies: Garden State and Secondhand Lions
(I like Action-Adventure movies best, but I'm not really picky. I can watch anything as long as it is not horror (except zombie movies).

Shows: Mostly comedy, dramas, and science fiction (Big Bang Theory, 2 broke girls, Two and a Half Men, How I Met Your Mother, Community, 30 Rock, Futurama, Arrested Development, The Walking Dead, True Blood, Dexter, Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, The Daily Show, Colbert Report, Futurama, Grey's Anatomy, Fringe, Dr. Who)

Music: Pretty flexible with music tastes, just like activities. I like alternative rock music best (I listen to the Green Day, The Shins, and Of Monsters and Men stations on my pandora account). Lately, I've been listening to Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros a lot-they're similar to Arcade Fire, Florence and the Machine, Feist, Iron and Wine, Mumford and Sons, and Of Monsters and Men. Favorite oldies: The Doors, Beatles, Simon and Garfield, The Who...I'll listen to almost anything, though, except for country, rap, and classical music.

Food: Love Italian and Asian (Always!) Unfortunately my stomach is a wuss and I can't eat anything even remotely spicy (It's quite sad and pathetic) :(
Six things I could never do without
1. Daily Show and Colbert Report (Well that's really two but are you counting).
2. Some fiction to read.
3. Chicago (I love this city!)
4. My Laptop
5. My Bicycle
6. Pizza
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, my career, what's going on the world right now current events, the books I'm reading, my loved ones, the people I care for, my friends and if they are happy. I'm often focused on the happiness of others. I think about how I can better myself. I probably spend too much time thinking about the universe and science fiction and scenarios i make up in my head about alternate universes, if I could go back in time or forward, etc.!
On a typical Friday night I am
Often times by the time Friday rolls around I'm beat from a week of giving my preschoolers all of my energy. Not that I won't go out on a Friday, just don't expect me to be at full steam till 2am.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
-I'm a bit disorganized. I'm working on getting better at this.
You should message me if
-If you like Zooey Deschanel and know of her character on the show: The New Girl. I think I am (and strive to be) like her personality wise. Quirky and cute.

-You know who Neil deGrass Tyson is and think he is awesome.

- You're a stimulating and intriguing date and you carry a witty rapport.

- If you liked my profile and you think I as well am stimulating and intriguing.
The two of us