christopher4130
37 Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
christopher4130
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Recent uni grad (bachelor's - human geography), working on finishing up the last bits of my attempt at a non-fiction book while also in the midst of exploring/researching my thesis for graduate studies.

I'm quick to laugh, almost always a smile on my face, and love to find fun in all things I do. But, I am also kinda shy at first, so there's that. I also have a big ol' conscience, so it would be nice if you did too, otherwise I doubt we'll get along well.

What drives/fascinates me is studying and/or thinking about big picture/systemic issues, capitalism (I'm a socialist, btw), technology/innovation, urban planning, economics and social justice, and how they all intermingle. A lot of people are being taken advantage of on this planet. I'd like to do what I can to change this.

I also love nature and landscape photography, and like to be physically active whenever possible (biking the city is a favourite pass time of mine, as well as hiking in the woods and snowboarding when I get the chance). Despite being a bookworm, I keep myself in shape.

More than anything I'm looking for more adventures and excitement in my life, so having an accomplice would be nice.
What I’m doing with my life
see above.
I’m really good at
Being awkward? I'm also pretty good at photography (despite my awful profile pics...) and really enjoy helping people with the technical aspects of it and gear choices (I worked at Henrys for several years in my twenties and spent many many hours of downtime testing and determining the best bang for your buck).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Novels/books: Karl Ove Knausgård,
Anything by Steinbeck, John Irving, Jack Kerouac, Hemingway, Robertson Davies, Nick Hornby, and lots of others.

Non-fiction: mostly books about economics, urban planning, capitalism, and critiques of Western society.

movies: lots of foreign flicks, docs, and really well made drama's and comedies mostly.

MUSIC: just saw The Lumineers play, Amazing! I like alt rock, classic rock, folk, some punk, etc. Check out my Spotify playlist oldsasha for more of what I listen to.

podcasts: This American Life, Serial, Startup, The Sunday Edition, Vinyl Cafe, TVO's Big Ideas, Ideas from CBC Radio, Strangers,

Favourite foods: Thai, Vietnamese, Indian, Palestinian and Japanese.
The six things I could never do without
The woods
The city
Family
Friends
Social justice
Books
Camera/twilight
Computer with Internet access
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Besides my studies (read intro)...

Living in a Winnebago, crisscrossing Europe or the Southwest while writing and photographing the landscape.

Kittens.

Skateboarding....
On a typical Friday night I am
more than likely working on my never ending book (it's not even that big a book... pathetic!). Very much looking forward to having a different answer to this question.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was homeschooled by my hippy mom, raised on a vege macro-biotic diet, without cable t.v., till I was 11.
You should message me if
You are a kind person who is left/center-left wing.

You strive to be a good person (recycling, social justice advocate, help old ladies across the street, etc.)

You must love kittens (let's face it, if you don't love kittens we both know you're a monster. But hey, I'm not gonna judge. Just crawl back into your cave and we'll just forget this ever happened...

Oh, and I don't know what the heck this site is smoking with its suggested "personality traits" at the bottom of the profiles. I am adventurous, friendly, and good natured! And aggressive... haha.... :)
More