cityofdestiny
42 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cityofdestiny
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Usually up for anything including last-minute plans and any opportunity to go someplace new, I'll always make an effort to be a good companion. I try to think of others first and aspire to live simply and generously without getting too tangled up in the consumer/materialist lifestyle thing. I'm a minimalist who's more interested in experiences than acquiring things. Learning is my drug of choice, my path is anything but conventional, and I like to keep things pretty mellow and live happily within my means. I can find humor and beauty in almost any situation and rarely find myself getting bored or complaining.

Not one to let convention prevent me from going after my dreams, I’ve moved around a lot and done all kinds of fun work, mostly outdoors and ecological conservation/map/agriculture oriented in Hawaii and the Pacific Northwest. I grew up primarily in Michigan and Georgia, but have lived back and forth between Portland, Puget Sound, and Hawaii since '97. In addition to a working-with-my-hands day job that I usually enjoy, I have a small nursery and aspirations to help others heal the land, ourselves/communities, and our food/agriculture systems through agroforestry, aquaponics, and permaculture design. I look forward to living overseas at least part of the time and to continue community service as much as possible.
What I’m doing with my life
The only thing you can do with your life is give it away.

...so I try for that, but also: learning every day, meditating, fixing up a house, living with the best dog ever; building things, growing things, fixing things, getting rid of things; demilitarizing landscapes, spending as much time on the water as I can, playing soccer and enjoying leisurely bike rides, being prepared, and not letting it pass me by.
I’m really good at
Learning, empathy, finding things, change, helping people, working hard, research, wandering, enjoying simple pleasures, staying up late, making home, spatial orientation and situational awareness, trivia, being a good travel partner, appearing to be patient even when I'm not; and being open to the possibilities of...
The first things people usually notice about me
calm, thoughtful/introspective, spontaneous
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: Siddhartha, Gaviotas, The Grapes of Wrath; more nonfictiony.
films: not many lately, but I tend toward educational or indie/foreign types and documentaries.
shows: not into TV. more into podcasts and community radio
music: yes, all kinds old and new with a few exceptions
food = medicine: I like it to be organic and local, and I'm mostly vegetarian/vegan, but I'll gratefully eat pretty much anything offered. I intend to be as much/more of a producer of food than a consumer, but have a very long way to go. Ayurvedic nutrition has been an inspiration.
The six things I could never do without
The best things in life aren't things, but:
learning opportunities
bodies of water
metta
maps and the new places they lead me
quiet time, some of it alone
trees. trees are the answer
I spend a lot of time thinking about
living more with less, community service, relationships with people and places, wise livelihood, dreams, agroforestry, permaculture, regenerative agriculture, aquaponics, food and nutrition, human rights, travel/road trip plans, lifestyle design and the homestead I'd like to create, resilient communities, ayurveda, expatriation, architecture, the potential energy of libraries, airports, marinas, and nurseries.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Pitta-kappa and INFJ
You should message me if
You are considerate, resourceful, intelligent, affectionate, and fun. You value relationships, communication, shared experiences, and giving above any things. You live outside of USA or intend to, at least part of the time. You appreciate undivided attention. You’re interested in what's going on in the real world and work toward goals that include making some part of it better, and you're engaged in doing the things you love. Ideally, you are independent, you've got a good idea of what you want in your life, and can find a balance with it complemented by me. Ultimately, I hope we'll embrace each others' differences and imperfections and just be happy being ourselves. Even better if you're into growing food, minimalism, service and those sort of things.
More