46 St. Louis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I just accomplished a significant career change. I am still getting used to my new situation, but I find the stability and 'office hours' schedule refreshing.

To make up for it, I am filling up the weekends and evenings with trips, activities, and opportunities to see friends. I would rather have too much to do than too little.

Downtime for me sometimes consists of thinking about a future trips, sitting in a coffee shop with a computer keeping up with news and friends who are scattered all over the world, or going for a run in Forest Park.

I like to slip out of town to go floating down a river or hiking in the woods. If I can go dancing or hear live music a few times a month, it is a good thing. With most of my friends, spending sometime talking over a beer or a coffee is really rewarding.

I consider myself extremely luckily to have lived in various countries of Africa over the past decade. Thinking of the people I met and the places I went fill me with joy. I love telling stories about my experiences, but they interfered with my romantic life. I don't regret the choices I made, but when I am with my partnered friends, I get reminded of what I sacrificed. So, I am hoping to balance my life a bit.

I would like to find someone for whom adventure and reliability co-exist. I am guess I am looking for someone interested in people, in doing things, and in seeing what the possibilities are. I would like to be able to tell you what I am looking for, but it is not simple to articulate. When I think of my relationships and attractions, they tend to be engaged people with a patience and a curiosity about humanity. (Vague, I know.)

A final thought: If nothing else, there are so many restaurants I would love an excuse to try. Just dinner.
What I’m doing with my life
I am exploring the new worlds of commuting and corporate employment for the first time in my life. I like the fact that I am in education still, but I will have to see about corporate life.

I am shy, nerdy, and cautious by nature, but I have worked really hard to become adventurous, worldly, and social.
I’m really good at
Wandering around new cities

Switching from teaching/academic mode to just goofing off

Gaining people's trust

Getting past mishigas & drama
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My reading often goes like this: important literature, foreign novel, pop-lit, rinse, repeat. A few favorites include: Poisonwood Bible, Zakes Mda, John Updike, Kathy Reichs, Invisible Man, Nadine Gordimer, Kinky Friedman, etc.

Movies are great, but I am not an expert. I like them moody, with dying characters, and subtitled. I am often pleasantly surprised by Italian movies.

Music should be danced to and/or seen live (if possible). I have African, dance, blues, jazz, rock, new wave, girl with guitar, salsa, etc. in my collection.
The six things I could never do without
A passport, a source of music, email (or some other way to keep up with friends), being outdoors, spell-check, & a new novel to read
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Can I fit in a run, or should I sit and be still for a while?

Should I do archaeology writing in my occasional spare time, or something else?
On a typical Friday night I am
doing one of a few things:
1) hanging out with friends
2) going for a run and having a quiet night
3) going to see some live music or theater
4) heading out of town
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've had crushes on strangers because of their eyes.
You should message me if
...it is a crying-shame that I have not written you yet. Yes, I am sure it was an oversight on my part.

Or, if you are just twitching to ask me something.

Or, if you want to find out if I am unusual-odd or unusual-interesting.