cms479
31 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cms479
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
After two years of AmeriCorps, I finally got around to getting a
"real" job. I work at a local government on energy policy.

I grew up outside Philadelphia, moved down to the DC area for grad school (UMD), and I've stayed for AmeriCorps and now this position. I really enjoy living in a walkable city with so many options, even though I'm still adjusting to some things about it... no one's from here and there's not much local pride which is a huge thing in Philly. Oh, and the hipsters can get a little annoying.

While my career is important to me I try to maintain a healthy
balance- I spend my free time hanging out with friends, playing/watching soccer and basketball, biking, and generally trying to experience and learn about as many new things as I can.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I find myself reading shorter pieces or listening to podcasts more - news, local blogs like Greater Greater Washington, and science/medicine/tech stuff. When I have the attention span for books I gravitate toward non-fiction and American fiction classics.

I'm also really into comedy or standup. Veep, Silicon Valley, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Louis CK, Patton Oswalt, and Ricky Gervais come to mind. I'm also in Game of Thrones withdrawal.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How do things work?
What should I eat next?
Is Jon Snow dead?
You should message me if
you think we'd get along. Bonus points for fans of dive bars, political/philosophical discussion, and non-conformists.
More