34Reston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have an insatiable thirst for knowledge. I like learning everything about everything. Pick a topic, and I want to learn about it. Right now, things I am learning about include such topics as, diesel engine repair, elementary particle physics, and short wave radio.

I strive to be minimalistic in life. I have what I need for my life, my hobbies, and nothing extraneous. Unfortunately my hobbies tend to have a lot of physical and metaphorical moving parts.

I guess I'm more type A than I'd like to admit, responsible, hardworking (when motivated), determined, witty, reserved, and a fixer, I gather that's the engineer blood in me.
What I’m doing with my life
It's been a long journey to get to where I am today, and where I want to be. I was born in a third world country to a father in the forestry service, and my mother in the peace corps. As an infant, my family moved to New York and I did the normal kid things, played with legos, built radios, model rockets, traveled all over the place with my parents, and went sailing with my grandpa.

In high school I wanted to be a video game developer. As I took my required mathematics requirement. I became increasingly curious about the world in which we reside. I wanted to know and learn everything. I took all the math classes my college offered. I wanted more, and went on to learn newtonian physics, e&m, modern physics, quantum mechanics. The more I learned the more I realized there was no way to know everything, and the less I really know.

Months out of college my best friend said, hey my company is hiring, you want a job. Sure! So now I am currently a software engineer, work in Northern Virginia, (for a company you use every day).

My interests have mostly been the same as what I've grown up with. Instead of going out with grandpa on the boat, I go sailing with the club, and do yacht racing during the summer. Instead of legos I build my jeep and restore my landrover defender. Instead of playing in the sandbox, I go offroading, camping, hiking, mountain biking, and running. I still travel, I still play with radios.

Where I'd like to be is doing more of the same, sailing all over the world. learning more math, and physics, figuring out the world in which we live.

I'm looking forward to sailing in the DelMarVa rally down the Chesapeake bay and up the Atlantic coast in June.
I’m really good at
mathematics, physics, sailing, hiking, traveling, programming, cars, cooking, baking, skiing, off-roading, board games... seriously if you love playing board games, don't bother reading the rest of this profile and just message me.

I'm really bad at:
I used to competitvely ski slalom and giant slalom, but I'm absolutely terrible at snowboarding (teach me!), finding my latitude and longitude with a sextant and a pocket watch.
The first things people usually notice about me
People look up to me, literally and figuratively?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: The books I'm currently going through are introduction to elementary particles by griffiths, the signal and the noise by silver, and the fifth discipline by senge. Books I read for fun tend to be science fiction, like hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy.

movies: Man I like all sorts of movies, the two that I probably make everyone watch are aliens, and hunt for red october
shows: west wing, house of cards, game of thrones, breaking bad, walking dead, top gear

music: indie rock, alternative, electro, industrial metal

food: once again I love all sorts of food, and trying new things
Six things I could never do without
* my phone - it's my organizer, it's my camera, graphing calculator, it's my internet at my hands, and also makes calls
* something with 4wd - gets me form here to there... provided I've fixed everything
* my passport - self explanitory
* my laptop - to do my work on
* my backpack - to carry my stuff
* my bike - slightly more fuel efficient
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Selling everything, buying a boat, getting a dog, and cruising the ocean.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working, going to the gym, making something new for dinner, and planning what to do for the rest of the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was an Eagle Scout, and I still own legos.
You should message me if
I'm looking for someone who has their own ambitions, has sense of adventure, fit, smart, and a love for the outdoors.
The two of us