39San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Under penalty of perjury, I do hereby attest and affirm that, as of 07/04/2015 the following profile is current and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

I was born and raised in a small town in Western Massachusetts. I studied art and illustration in college with an eye on being a comic book penciller, but after graduation I got sidetracked into teaching English overseas: mostly in Japan, but a bit in Taiwan as well. After a series of international adventures, my wife and I returned to the States and made the Bay Area our home.

With regards to the aforementioned wife, that is a present-tense state of affairs. I have been married to the incomparable Jellykka since 2006. We opened our marriage during a time when we were living in separate countries, but once we moved back to the States, we concurred that we enjoyed the non-monogamous life, and eventually started identifying as poly. We mostly date separately because it's just easier to schedule, but we've been known to date as a unit when the stars align.

I'm also fairly active in the local kink scene. I came to it by way of poly, and now it's a considerable element of my identity. I'm mostly active with SFTNG, as well as the Society of Janus. If you're similarly wired, I can point you to my profile on that other social network. And if not, I don't use that as a criterion when it comes to meeting new people. I'm glad to get acquainted with vanilla folks, veteran kinksters and everyone in between.
What I’m doing with my life
Job-wise, I spent the first couple years after Asia as an apprentice carpenter. It was good work for a while, but making it a career takes a real physical toll, so I went back to school to study real estate. Now I'm arranging a license exam date and pursuing avenues into commercial property management.

In my off-time, I have no shortage of extracurricular interests. I won't say hobbies: I prefer Nick Offerman's alternative, 'disciplines'. I run, rock climb, hike and build things out of wood. I've been known to home-brew beer and hard cider, and I'm fairly adept in the kitchen. Recently, I've also set out to landscape my backyard, as well as teach myself the bass guitar ( go ahead, make all the jokes). I've also been surfing and skiing once or twice, and I'd like to pick those up again as well.
I’m really good at
Spatial relation problems, figure drawing, recognizing faces, telling wild lies with a straight face, baking challah, making French Toast with that challah, climbing into small spaces, finding things that other people have misplaced.
The first things people usually notice about me
My giant bear-paw hands. And once in a while, a very fancy tie knot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
-Phantoms in the Brain, by Vilayanur Ramachandran
-Voltaire, by Candide
-On The Road, by Jack Kerouac
-A Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams
-The Ancestor's Tale/ the God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins

-Seven Samurai
-Gods and Monsters
-The Hudsucker Proxy

-Parks and Recreation
-BoJack Horseman
-Broad City
-Good Eats
-Mostly anything by Joss Whedon (Angel is a bit meh, but I'm watching it to fill in the continuity with BtVS)

-Pink Floyd (especially the earlier Syd Barrett stuff)
-Dave Brubeck
-Aphex Twin
-The Who
-The Rolling Stones
-Grant Lazlo

Podcasts/Web Series:
-Savage Love
-Judge John Hodgman
-Sex Nerd Sandra
-Zero Punctuation
-High Maintainence
-Red vs. Blue

-Taiwanese ( except for stinky tofu; that's actually a thing, and it's horrible!)
OK, let's just say I'm into pretty much all food from everywhere. It's much easier.
Six things I could never do without
-My tools ( I know, I know, not a thing so much as a category).
-My smartphone ( I'm not proud of this, but it's really revolutionized how I interact with the world).
-A good pair of firm yet well-worn climbing shoes.
-A mechanical pencil with 2B lead.
-A spiral bound sketchbook with quality paper.
-Our Miele vacuum cleaner ( we have a shiba inu; he sheds like crazy!).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to get rid of the weeds in the backyard so they don't come back. Whether or not I left something on when I left the house.
On a typical Friday night I am
Muddling through some Jack Bruce bass lines on my couch, entertaining guests, out at a live show/happy hour/kink event/etc., climbing on things like any self-respecting primate ought to.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm very, very excited that they're making movie adaptations of Black Panther and Doctor Strange.
You should message me if
-We've got interests in common, or you've got something you're passionate about that you want to share.
-You're poly/kink experienced, or curious and want to learn.
-You're self-aware, decent and not shy about calling bullshit when you hear it.
-You climb.
The two of us