copper_plated
35 London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
copper_plated
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey

Some bits and pieces about me:
I'm a writer by trade. I work in communications, teach creative writing in schools, and been fortunate enough to have a few kids' books published. It's loads of fun and extremely varied, which suits me down to the ground!

I really like studying things too. I've ended up with two masters degrees (Egyptology and Global Politics), and contemplating doing another at some point. No idea what though, but Psychology could be interesting...

Enjoy getting out of the country but haven't done much recently beyond some trips to Europe this year: I went sailing in Belgium over the summer, which was great, and had a few short trips to France and Italy (lemoncello!). Also lived in Greece and Spain for a time in my twenties.

Other stuff I like:
reading - enjoying lots short stories at the moment.
the countryside - don't get out to it often enough though.
dramatic weather/scenery - thunderstorms are great!
good food/restaurants/wine
boats and water, especially the Mediterranean
history
comedy - the Detectorists is fantastic and should be mandatory viewing for everyone!
lie ins - a weekend must.
running - new to this and pretty rubbish at it.
languages - I'm learning French at the moment and would love to speak Italian.
audiobooks - Always wanted to read Remembrance of Things Past but don't have the patience so I'm listening to it instead.
nights out with friends
weirdness

Al.
What I’m doing with my life
Selling out for a bit to buy a flat.
I’m really good at
see above. And procrastinating.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall, I wear glasses, and I have a beard.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
All sorts. Reading a lot of short stories at the moment but spend most of my reading time trying to get through Roald Dahl books in French.

Films:
Great Beauty, Guardians of the Galaxy, Before Sunset, and the Darjeeling Ltd are some of my favs.

TV:
Detectorists, Archer, Game of Thrones

Music:
Deer Tick, Trampled by Turtles, Decemberists, Bruce Springsteen and recently got into a band called the Turnpike Troubadours.

Food:
All.
The six things I could never do without
Books
Decent restaurants
Cynical humour
Netflix
Sushi
Bed
I spend a lot of time thinking about
plotlines.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends in or staying in watching a film or TV series.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm prepared to admit I watched the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo with my mum. It was weird (the situation not the film - well the film was a bit weird too but mainly the situation).
You should message me if
you want to.
More