36 Ypsilanti, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
crafty, tattooed, queer mom, who tries (and often fails) to balance professionalism with a penchant for cursing like a drunken sailor.
What I’m doing with my life
i'm a social worker in child welfare, but going back to school for Occupational Therapy (I apply to my program in August of 2013).

My 6 year old daughter is the most important thing in my life - she is a hilarious little bad-ass nerdy tomboy genius who loves hanging out with the grown ups. I also love my dog (super mutt) and currently live with 1 & 1/3 cats (the 1/3 cat wanders between 3 homes). I've got an amazing girlfriend (sometimes your quiver match turns out to be your dream girl), and couldn't be happier with how life is going.

I love to craft, but haven't really had time to do it very frequently since I became a mama. I used to crochet, sew (clothing, purses, stuffed animals, etc), make jewelry, sculpt, etc, etc, etc,. Getting out of that rut now and have been busy on pinterest finding new things to make, and carving more time for myself to hang out with old & new friends, travel, camp, go bowling, biking, kayaking, and about to go on a tubing trip with my lady that i am super excited about!
I’m really good at
being a mom, making shit, fixing shit, finding new reasons to redecorate my house, using too many parenthesis, hugging people who are sad, braiding my daughters hair, losing socks, forgetting shit about the book i just read 5 minutes after i put it down, finding free stuff, collecting salt & pepper shakers, obsessing over cute dogs & babies, finding families for kids in foster care, procrastinating.
The first things people usually notice about me
i'm tall, have a lot of tattoos, and i ask people to repeat things a lot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
i read like crazy (except when i'm in school) and one room of my house is a well-stocked library. my favorite author is J.D. Salinger, I also like John Irving, Douglas Adams, David Sedaris, Susan Collins. I tend to read what people recommend to me or let me borrow - often, this is humor, "juvenile" literature (that is often very intelligently written - Hunger Games, Maze Runner, House of the Scorpion, etc, etc)

Movies: i love horror movies (and am in serious need of people that will watch them with me) - cheesy, gory, 80's, whatever - and sci fi channel movies about giant mutant/hybrid animals attacking people (sharktopus!).. oh, and also, movies about cheer leaders. I think the best thing ever would be a movie that combined my two loves, and sharktopus got to join a rag-tag group of cheer leaders and helped them win regionals against all odds - then ate everyone during a tragic attempt at an (illegal) triple flip basket toss.
I also like movies that are actually, genuinely funny, or intelligent, or both. Eternal Sunshine, Me & You & Everyone We Know, Sunshine Cleaning Co, Mean Girls, man, I will have to continue this list after I peruse my netflix queue. Also, Big Business, staring the amazing Lily Tomlin, is one of the best things ever.

shows: modern family, raising hope, new girl, bones, united states of tara, once upon a time, and a few others i can't think of.

Music: extremely eclectic tastes. I mainly listen to things like postal service, florence, LP, metric, she & him, sufjan, peter bjorn & john, ditty bops, camera obscura, death cab, jem, etc, I genuinely love cheesy 80's music -Hall & Oates, Debbie Gibson, George Michael/Wham.... as well as oldies & classic rock, top 40, jazz & swing, pretty much everything but country and rap.

food: i eat tons of vegetarian sushi, eat guacamole almost every day of my life, and if you ever ask me if i want anything from the store the reply will be 'chocolate.' i like meat, especially a good steak. tried the vegetarian thing a long time ago but it is not for me, though i did cut down my meat consumption 10%. i've made a mindful decision to eat healthier in the last year, and don't eat any fast food or drink caffeine, and drink pop only very, very rarely (admission: this is less true this summer since i am never home). recovering picky eater, but no spicy food (and i can't eat mexican) and i don't like any form of sea food. I also have never acquired a taste for beer - tried all different kinds, it's just not my thing. so, i drink mixed drinks, embarrassing girly shit, or wine.
The six things I could never do without
1. my daughter
2. my dog, Badebbie
3. sarcasm
4. a camera (my daughter is way too cute not to document)
5. a super comfy bed
6. my sewing machine
I spend a lot of time thinking about
my kiddo.

new ways to redecorate my house.

my kids from work, and how to make their lives better.

what i'm going to do this weekend.

how fantastic my lady is.
On a typical Friday night I am
Kickball practice! Our team is Queers to Fear. we're really not that frightening, but we are really awesome (not always at kickball, but in general)

On nights I don't have my daughter I'm out with friends (probably from kickball), or at my girlfriend's trivia show

On nights I am, hanging out with my daughter, and then after she goes to bed having a bonfire in my backyard with friends or just enjoying a quiet evening watching movies with my lady.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
i have a love/hate relationship with horrible, horrible pop music. i can't help it. i hear the song "moves like jagger" and i have to car-dance.

i admit pretty much anything - in person.
You should message me if
you are a slightly nerdy but fairly awesome person who like to craft, play board games (i've got a huge collection) go for walks, bike around the nature park, camp, play darts, sit around a bonfire in my backyard (i have over an acre of land in Ypsi Township), go bowling, thrift store shopping, or go on random adventures. I'm up for trying pretty much anything. Also, I'm not generally the type to want to spend a long time emailing before i meet you. Let's talk in person.

if you're interested in new people to hang out with, do shit that doesn't always involve drinking or going to the bar, message me. also, i'd love to meet other queer moms and/or moms parenting transracially.

i am NOT polyamorous, so please don't be contacting me looking for a third, some people really are on okcupid just to meet new friends.

I can be very sarcastic, so be forewarned.