62Oklahoma City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Some may say I'm a bit crazy I would say spontaneous, fun loving, independent, and surprisingly liberal are better adjectives. I love the freedom I've had since my divorce In 2005...married over 30 yrs. I do well on my own but enjoy spending time with fun-loving interesting people too. My handful of "real friends" are for life but I don't get to see them as often as I'd like. It would be nice to meet a man, who has similar interests, to spend time with. It's important to note that I am open to being with men of color. My marriage was to a Native American and we raised our sons to fully embrace their culture and to make it an important part of who they are. I like to be with those who respect and enjoy cultural differences. I'm particularly attracted to men of color and do not have tolerance for those who are culturally un-cool or are not excepting of mixed race relationships!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working 40 hrs a week (but not much longer) I have a new plan that I'm implementing that included down-sizing to an early 50's fixer upper in Central OKC a couple years ago. I'm living here & continuing to update the place. I love DYI projects & I'm pretty good at what I enjoy doing. My newly remodeled bathroom turned out great!. I also enjoy art, music, cooking, gardening and friends. My new venture is currently taking any and all of my spare time!
I’m really good at
Making people comfortable. I am friendly and outgoing. Most of my friends say I'm the "life of the party". I admit I do like a good laugh while enjoying a glass of wine with my favorite people. I have a positive outlook and like to have's too short not to!
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile and friendly demeanor. I am not your typical 59 year old middle American either....I often take people by surprise!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
You'll find Herman Hesse & Kahil Gibran in my book collection but also Michael Chrichton, John Irving, Toni Morrison, self help books to Oprah's book club picks and Do-it-Yourself books. I'm also kind of a magazine freak. I am currently enjoying Architectural Digest, Elle Decor, Bazar and Vogue. Some of M y favorite movies are Field of Dreams, Apocalypse Now, The Big Lebowski & I watch Bad Santa over & over during the holidays! I like all of Spike Lee's stuff and the Cohen brothers too but I also enjoy Fiddler on the Roof and Dr Zhivago very much! I'm very versatile. Don't watch too much TV used to enjoy stuff like Anthony Bordain, Chopped, Life Below Zero, Cash Cab but don't have cable now so I do Amazon & Netflix. I'm very diverse in my music too & use my Bluetooth speaker often for podcasts or music on ITunes & Pandora (probably have over 50 stations built up) My sons raised me on rap so I have my favorites, still listen to all my classic rock and Motown!! (I raised the boys to appreciate those as well) my favs range from Steely Dan to Traveling Wilburrys, Prince, Neil Young, Mark Knoffler, Van Morrison, Natalie Merchant, Gil Scott Heron.and The Temptations! I also enjoy music from other cultures and often listen to Puerto Rican, Middle Eastern and African music. Interesting food is important and I love to cook with friends and on my own. My food choices seem to run somewhat along the same lines as music...FULL OF CUTURE. I tried VERY hard to be vegan, though it's just vegetarian & pesca-terrian now because I have a weakness for a rare bit of cookie dough and I couldn't live without cultured dairy products & protein. I try to do organic & NOT from corporate farms! I feel very strongly about the cruel treatment of animals in our modern society and try my darnedest NEVER to eat things that come from that!! Good wine is also a must.
Six things I could never do without
My 2 Wonderful Sons
Close friends
A job
My iPhone (it's a take along office)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where the future might take me, how to stay healthy and active as I age, how not to become the parent my kids need to take care of, how to keep working without becoming burnt-out, how to make a positive difference in the world and what is the true meaning of life anyway?
On a typical Friday night I am
So happy for the break from work!! I'll be havin a glass of wine and kickin-it with my next door neighbors (who are like family), enjoying the peace and quiet of my home, or working on a home-improvement project. I also usually treat myself to a glass of nice red wine for all the hard work!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wish I had enough money not to have to worry about money and the future. I'm down-sizing in an attempt to help with that.
You should message me if
You are looking for a woman who knows what she likes after years of life experience, if you don't expect perfection and are flexible, f you aren't looking to get married or live with someone any time soon, if you are willing to share yourself and be open and honest with another person, if you like to kiss, cuddle and get to know a woman for awhile before jumping in the sack, if you are a warm caring person desiring another warm caring person and if you won't bring drama or bad karma to a new relationship.
The two of us