40Springfield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi there!

I'm Derek. I live in Springfield and work at a local college.

I'm just a shy, awkward guy that has trouble getting out of my comfort zone.

I'm happy to share more when we meet.
What I’m doing with my life
I'd like to say at my age that I have everything figured out. Perhaps it's best that I don't have much figured out at all.

I spend my free time cooking, watching sports, reading, and go for a hike or bike ride often.

I dream of world travel. I first want to travel to Peru to visit Cusco and Macchu Picchu. Then a tour of Europe.
I’m really good at
I've been told that I'm a good cook and good with my hands. I remember a lot of trivia. I think I'm a good listener, but maybe that's because I tend to let others dominate a conversation.

I think I'm a bad singer, bad driver, and a bad dancer.
The first things people usually notice about me
I've never really asked someone what they first noticed about me. Sometimes people tell me that I have a nice smile, or that I'm tall, or something like that.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I've been reading a few Doctor Who novels . Recent books I've really enjoyed include Little Children, I am Charlotte Simmons, Assassination Vacation, How I Paid for College, The Kite Runner, Eat Pray Love, The Omnivore's Dilemna, and The Irresistable Revolution.

Movies: My two favorites are Amelie and Stranger than Fiction. Other movies I think are outstanding: American Beauty, Clerks, Dirty Pretty Things, Hotel Rwanda, Million Dollar Baby, Napoleon Dynamite, Office Space, Spirited Away, Slumdog Millionaire, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Juno, Precious, Ratatouille, Rent, Taxi Driver, The Hangover, and To Kill a Mockingbird.

Music: I don't listen to music a whole lot. But in my small CD collection, you will find Johnny Cash, U2, Tupac, Beethoven, Kanye West, Nine Inch Nails, Nickel Creek, and some Broadway musicals.

Food: I like to eat. Leg of lamb is a favorite. I wish I had discovered bibimbap earlier in my life. I enjoy a good piece of fish. I don't care for McDonalds.

TV: I enjoy watching Doctor Who and soccer. I also enjoy watching Food Network, the Travel Channel, The Simpsons, The Big Bang Theory, Top Gear and The Office.

Sports: Soccer, Rugby, Football, Basketball, the Olympics, Baseball, Hockey, Tennis. I don't care for Nascar.
Six things I could never do without
(1) My family. (2) A book to read. (3) The internet. (4) A regular place to sleep and shower. (5) A warm coat. (6) Enough cash to afford a simple meal and a bus ride home. Say $20.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm going to list questions that often pop into my head:

When will I get to travel to Europe? How could I live there?
What does a co-worker really think about me?
Why does it seem that those who have it all aren't the least bit grateful for what they have?
Why do Americans get to have so much and Africa has so little?
Who is winning the game that I am not getting to watch tonight while I work?
What will I make for dinner?
On a typical Friday night I am
At home or visiting a friend.

On Saturday night I watch Doctor Who, current and original series.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm allergic to cats.
I have a steel rod in my left leg.
I have a tattoo on each arm.
I think glasses are sexy.

Those aren't very private, I suppose. I won't hold much back in person, but don't think it's wise to disclose too much here.
You should message me if
I'm open to hearing from anyone who likes what they read and thinks they would like to get to know a little more about me.
The two of us