40Los Angeles, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Here's the cliffnotes to the most recent chapter in my life: I moved here from Sacramento (grew up in Midwest) to earn my Master's degree and decided to stick around after I graduated. I didn't really know anyone down here so it's been an adventure so far. I'm still learning what the area has to offer and would love a tour guide. I've been in SoCal since 2007, but recently moved to Eagle Rock.

If I were to step outside of myself and describe me as a friend, I would probably say that I'm a funny guy, passionate about the things I care about, loves fun, loves discovering something new everyday, loves excessive use of commas and run-on sentences. I see nothing wrong with ending a sentence in a preposition (I tried to think of a witty way to do it with this sentence but couldn't think of a preposition to end it on).

I love just about anything that makes me laugh whether its a movie, a show, a friend, a really bad knock-knock joke, or an awesome mullet at a hockey game. I check online to see who is playing at local comedy clubs or live music venues weekly. People tell me my sense of humor ranges from witty and intelligent to 15-year-old boy humor depending on my target listener and current mood. I take pride in my ability to laugh at life and laugh at myself. I would love to meet someone who can make me laugh and isn't afraid to pick on me.

I'm a pretty open-minded guy and accepting of most lifestyles. I've lived a lot of places growing up and met many different walks of life. I think I can fit in with just about any crowd.

I get my news from the Jon Stewart and Bill Maher. I love independent music more than commercial radio but usually listen to podcasts but usually only when I'm driving alone(any suggestions?). I'm trying to learn more about wines...apparently the stuff in the box just doesn't cut it for a romantic evening.

About you: loves to have fun, loves to explore and learn something new, loves guys who are a little nerdy, loves intentionally bad jokes, loves to talk and get to know people whether it be as a match or a friend. I'm pretty tall (tall enough for you to wear heels). Basically I'm looking for someone I can be myself around and hopefully you can be yourself around me.
What I’m doing with my life
I moved down here in 2007 for grad school and stuck around. I live in Eagle Rock and work as a physical therapist.
I’m really good at
Jeopardy (but only Celebrity and high school tournaments), cooking food that probably I only like, I make pretty darn good sangria if you are patient enough to wait for it to sit overnight. I'm also good at remembering random stuff that doesn't apply to anything useful in life. Singing Michael McDonald songs (but not getting the words right)

Now for a list of things that I am NOT good at:
-Celebrity impressions
-fake accents (though I have a little Midwestern one naturally, but usually just when I drink)
-jumping in a pool and looking graceful
-picking out eyeglasses
-taking a good picture with my phone
-looking cool while throwing a football (I was more of a soccer player growing up)
-having a picture taken of me without making some sort of face
The first things people usually notice about me
is "wow, you really ARE tall" and I've been told I have a nice smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: all-time favorites are Breakfast Club, The Jerk, Ghostbusters (If anyone ever tries to remake one of those movies, I will boycott Hollywood forever). EDIT: I put this a while back before I knew about the remake...and I'm really considering it. I love comic Book Movies, most comedies, and an occasional bad early 90's action flick.

TV: Breaking Bad, Walking Dead, It's Always Sunny, Sarah Silverman Program, GoT, Arrested Development, Freaks and Geeks, Dexter, Louie. Also I love good stand-up comedy and hockey.

Podcasts: The Nerdist, WTF, Adam Corolla

Music: Pearl Jam, Against Me, Gaslight Anthem, and lots of punk bands I don't feel like listing here.

Food: I love to BBQ and try to have lots of people over at least a few times a year to feed their faces. I'll try almost anything at least once. Pretty much anything except coconut and raisins.
Six things I could never do without
Comedy, friends, sleep timer on my tv, learning, white noise, sodium
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why does Morgan Freeman have to narrate everything?
On a typical Friday night I am
Typical Friday stuff: Eating out with friends, grabbing a drink, seeing a show, or snuggling on my couch in my pajamas with my stuffed toy cat Mr. Freckles (that last part isn't entirely true)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I get caught singing while driving, I pretend to be on my Bluetooth. (I don't own a Bluetooth)
You should message me if
If you are fun and you think I may be fun. Maybe you can help me explore this town that is still relatively new to me? Or maybe even go explore the world.
The two of us