curiousandinva
42 Alexandria, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
curiousandinva
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Like so many of us here in the metro area I'm a transplant. I grew up in California, went to grad school in Georgia, had a short stint back in Cali and here I am.

I'm a well-educated professional looking for more from life. I’m a chemist by training, but work as an analyst now. I’m not doing what I thought I would do when I was in school. But I like it more than I expected. Life certainly has a way of surprising you, doesn't it?

I’m looking for someone to enhance my life, someone to share experiences with. I don’t have a specific set of criteria. I’ll know if you are right for me if it feels right and hopefully you'll feel the same. I’ve met a few fascinating people and I’ve learned to keep a very open mind. Interesting comes in all sorts of packages.

Describing yourself is hard, but as my name indicates, I’m driven by curiosity. I would love to chat with you about science and technology, sports, pop culture or which Jane Austen book is the best (I’m going with Pride and Prejudice). I am a great conversationalist as well a listener.

When I get out of the house I’m more driven by who I am with, than what I am doing. That isn’t to say I don’t have interests, I do (see more below), but the right company can make almost anything interesting.

I have two wonderful children that I love (15 and 11). I'm very comfortable if you also have children.

I look forward to meeting many of the interesting people on this website, and good luck to you whatever you do.
What I’m doing with my life
I just bought a house (yaaay mortgage payment), so that is the current excitement in my life. Renting was always so easy, now I have to be responsible and everything, *ARGH* who wants to be an adult.

I recently got back from a trip with the kids to Las Vegas and California. We saw lots of shows, hiked at Zion National Park and visited family in California. *Sigh* I wish it had been longer.

When it comes to my future my focus is being a better me. That means getting better at my job, better as a father and friend. Meeting a nice woman wouldn't be a bad thing either.
I’m really good at
I’m good at lots of things! Some of them are even useful! I’m good at remembering minutiae, so you want me on your trivia team. I have a very analytical mind, so I’m very good at breaking down a big problem into smaller pieces.
The first things people usually notice about me
I love to learn new things. I am a very curious person.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot. I love to read fantasy (George R. R. Martin, the late Robert Jordan, Terry Brooks, etc ...) mystery (Michael Connelly, John Sandford, etc ...), technothrillers (Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child, Michael Crichton, etc ...) and a bit of non-fiction (e.g. Malcom Gladwell, as well as technology and history). I read so much at work that most of what I read is what I call tripe (fun, but hardly literature). I haven't bought a novel for myself in years, the library is my friend. If I can ever get to a point where I'm not overwhelmed at work (Hey, let me dream), I really would like to read more classic literature. For some reason I've got an itch to read Atlas Shrugged. I'm not an objectivist, but for some reason it interests me. I just got a subscription to Marvel Unlimited (think Netflix for comics), so I've also been catching up on some guilty super hero pleasures.

When it comes to films I tend to prefer action, comedy and horror flicks. The last three movies I saw in the theater were The Magnificent Seven, Star Trek Beyond and Finding Dory. I get my share of dramas, but that is usually when I'm in the mood. Lincoln, for example was an absolutely fabulous movie!

I don't watch that much television aside from sports (and then not as much as I want). I don't even have cable or satellite TV (although I have dabbled with Sling)! I got Netflix about two years ago (was I the last one?) and I think I've seen most of the movies I want to. Still some good TV though. I had HBO Now for a while and I've been spending some time catching up on stuff I missed. I absolutely *LOVED* The Wire. Going through the Sopranos now and want to invest some time in Westworld with my Son, maybe next summer..

Music is usually the radio with a mix of Pop, Alternative and Hip-Hop. It may surprise you to know know what over 75% of the albums I own are hip-hop (but, to be fair, the last album I bought was probably 15 years ago). I still like hip-hop, but have included more pop and alternative stuff as well. I also like musicals as well, in particular live. I have seen 5 musicals so far this year (Matilda, Something Rotten, School of Rock, Kinky Boots and Hello Dolly) and I'm taking the kids to Phantom of the Opera in August.

Food is awesome. I wouldn't call myself a foodie (I don't even know how to define that), but I do love to eat. My favorites are Chinese, Mexican and Indian. I love dim sum on a Sunday morning. Recently my son has gone through an experimentation phase so I have cooked live crabs (that was an adventure), eel (purchased live at the store), squid (didn't work out well) and most recently lobster (much easier to cook than I expected). I had a blast doing them all, and I'm looking forward to trying some new stuff at home. I really need to get better with sides and vegetables though, that is my weakness (well that and presentation, I'm not an artist).
The six things I could never do without
My two children
Friends and extended family
The internet
The library
Yummy food
did I mention the internet?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My mind wanders all the time. Random thoughts I have had recently:

Could a vampire bite Superman's neck? Would he turn into a vampire?
Why is social media so popular?
What will the long term effects of Brexit be on my retirement?
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably the same as you. I might go out with friends for a Happy Hour, or dinner/movie. If I'm with the kids we'll probably hang out at home and either watch some Netflix (we seem to argue a bit about what to watch, who would have thought a 14 year old boy and 10 year old girl have different interests?) or play some board games. Our current favorites are Ticket to Ride, Pass the Pigs and Settlers of Catan (all good games). I'm getting interested in teaching them new card games. They recently learned Leroy and Spades and Hearts are coming soon.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've got more of an edge to me than I can convey with words on this profile. Take that as you will.
You should message me if
You want to meet a fun guy that will treat you well, and share some adventures.
More