67Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a single dad, been raising three wonderful daughters by myself since their mom died 9 years ago. They're now 12, 18 and 25. The middle one is off to UO in Eugene while the rest of us are moving from Hood River to Portland this summer mostly for work reasons. I'm looking to buy a place, preferably near Southeast, like around Reed College. I'm self-employed, delivering pharmaceuticals out of a distribution point in Vancouver.
I’m really good at
telling funny crazy stories from my complex and varied life. I love to talk about ideas from things I've read in philosophy, science, history, etc. I hate throwing something away because it doesn't work. Unscrewing it to see if something is loose or clogged often helps. I'm proud of my collection of peanut butter and jam jars that I use for drinking glasses.
The first things people usually notice about me
I act much younger than I am. My kids are embarrassed.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies:Slumdog Millionaire, Ghost Dog, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Books:Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon, Godel Escher Bach by Douglas Hofstadter, Wallander series by Henning Mankell
Music:John Coltrane to Quicksilver Messenger Service, Gnarls Barkley to Lana del Rey (thanks to my kids)
Food: the spicier the better! Nicholas on Grand, the Blue Nile on Broadway
Six things I could never do without
my kids, a woman to love, books, movies, a river or an ocean nearby, summer fruit
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything I read. how ideas from different disciplines interconnect.
On a typical Friday night I am
Streaming a movie with my daughters after we cook something.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can't wait until I no longer care about my ear hair and let it grow so long that I could braid it and tie little bells in it.
The two of us