dahodgins
30 Houston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
dahodgins
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi! My name is Danielle. I just relocated to Houston to earn my MFA from The University of Houston. I am originally from Syracuse, New York. I thought I would try using online resources to meet new people in the Houston area, so here I am.

I guess I would summarize myself as hardworking, caring, intelligent, and generally quiet. My family is very important to me. I try to always make a positive impact and seize the day. I am a very kind, loving person who likes to give more than receive. I am very passionate about my dreams and ideas. I enjoy helping others. I love dogs, travel, being lost in thought, cooking, and enjoying nature.

I am a go getter and an over achiever. I give 400% to everything I do. I like to keep busy and always have something on my plate that is unique, interesting, and/or helpful to my community. I am a visionary and always have at least 10 ideas in my head. I am a life time Girl Scout and live my life by the golden rule.

I am reserved at first but very fun, flirty, and full of life when I feel comfortable. I am quirky, artistic, and creative, but like to make lists and plan ahead. I am an even split between right brain and left brain.

I am an academic and enjoy the university atmosphere. I like learning and taking classes in any subject. I like science, math, and history. I have a Bachelors of Science from Cornell University and a Bachelors of Fine Arts from Syracuse University. I am now earning my MFA and will eventually continue on to a Ph.D.

I have a very playful, youthful heart, but a wise soul. In many ways I never lost my childhood spirit, and I can easily see things through a child's eyes. I laugh and giggle a lot and enjoy a good swing on the playground every once and a while. At the same time, I am very mature and responsible. I tend to do and see things differently than most of my peers.

Many people's main goal in life is to be successful and wealthy. My main goal is to make a difference and get involved where ever I go. I want to leave a positive mark on the world.

I am looking for fun people to show me around this big city. Message me if that is you!!
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently an MFA candidate at UH and work for the university as part of my appoinent. Other than that, I am a freelance artist and designer, dance teacher, and business owner.
I’m really good at
Art
Creativity
Cooking
The first things people usually notice about me
hmmm.... I would imagine they might say my warm, cheerful, smiling charisma, but I suppose you'll have to ask them.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS: I love fantasy books, historical fiction, and romance books (my guilty pleasure). Although, there are a select few non-fiction books that have caught my interest.

MOVIES: I tend to like the big block buster movies like Jurassic Park, Cold Mountain, The Aviator, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter. Due to my career field I usually analyze the films from a production point of view... not the celebrities. I really like historical dramas and I can do romantic comedies every once and a while. I don't care a ton for action movies and I HATE mindless comedy like Napolean Dinamite. I will never ever in a million years watch horror films.

SHOWS: I tend to watch a lot of crime drama TV. Bones is a big favorite. Castle, SVU, and PSYC are good too. I also like sitcoms Two and a half men, friends, everybody loves raymond, family guy, Half and Half.... probably more that I'm not thinking of. I am more of a channel flipper. I don't have specific shows that I watch regularly.

MUSIC: Anything goes. I am a Dance teacher so I listen to many different genres of music. I most commonly listen to world music and new age. I am not a huge fan of country. I don't do much modern heavy metal screaming type stuff.

FOOD: All types of food. My favorites are Indian, Chinese, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian, Greek, BBQ, and Italian on occassion
The six things I could never do without
Art supplies
books
my family
my dog
Music
the internet (ok, I could probably go with out this one)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
creative projects to start and future businesses ideas
On a typical Friday night I am
It depends. Sometimes I am working. sometimes I am sleeping. sometimes I am hanging with friends. In general on nights off (which aren't always Fridays) I paint, draw, design, create, dance, spend time with family, take a walk in the woods, help my parents, visit friends, day trips, cook, read, watch movies.... I never get bored or run out of things to do.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am still afraid of monsters (lol).... can't watch horror films. I have nightmares for weeks. And, I couldn't spell to save my life.
You should message me if
Message me only, If you are a gentleman looking for a completely plutonic friend. Ladies feel free to message me to make new gal pals too!
More