35 Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a midwest guy, slightly sarcastic, quick with a joke, Sometimes acerbic, sometimes saccharine sweet, accepting of those who accept others, happy to meet new people. I love knowledge of all kinds and I try to use what I have acquired on a constant basis. I can be an amazing friend if the need arises, though I'm quick to distance myself from exploitation. I . . . I like soup? Damn, self descriptions are really tough. Just ask me anything, I'm an open book.
When I wake up in the morning I lay in bed for at least 20 minutes before my feet touch the floor - excellent thinking time. I'm a pretty good cook. Not a great cook, but I used to be paid to be a cook, so I like to think I'm alright. I throw dinner parties. I would probably be a good addition to your trivia team, though that says much more about my upbringing than my current personality.
I'm super lucky in a morbid sort of way - I've survived a house fire, a sinking boat, a bunch of car accidents (none my fault), a rather large electrical explosion, two huge floods, a hurricane, and countless late nights on the town - so depending on your point of view I'm either pretty lucky or almost out of luck.

I'm just sort of your average liberal white guy. And I vote.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying it! Getting ready for another Wisconsin summer and all it entails. Camping, reading, bourbon, biking, cooking, cold local beer, grill outs and the occasional hiking trip. Currently trying to devise a plan to get the squirrels to stop digging up the plants on my porch. Cayenne pepper dusting has failed, I think it's time to up the Scoville units a few notches.
Also, trying to decide what to do with my life -and, yes, I realize I'm 31 - I'm kinda deliberate like that in regards to the big-picture things.
I’m really good at
Making a mess, cleaning it up, cooking, public speaking, washing dishes, driving, walking, cracking wise (as gramma would say), speling, air guitar and drums, photography, traveling, being super-sweet to little old ladies, problem solving, humility, and playing Devil's advocate (if warranted).
The first things people usually notice about me
My height? Blue eyes? I've been told I look quite young for my age, so maybe my baby face?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Louie - best show on TV, Raising Arizona (or anything by the Coen Brothers for that matter), FOTC, The Moth, Party Down, Vonnegut, Ricky Gervais, Archer, Edward Abbey, Portlandia (though I was sure I'd hate it when I first saw it) Daily Show, Colbert, dense almanacs (mmm, facts), Cooks Illustrated, Sedaris, Tom Robbins, This American Life and almost any book good on tape or interesting podcast.
Rushmore was and still is the overly tragic and hilarious re-telling of what I thought my teenage years were like, plus it's just perfect cinema, in my opinion.
I tried making a homemade tandoor for my backyard, but my small test oven caught on fire, I know, I know. So I kinda, sorta scrapped the project for the time being. Himal Chuli is my go-to comfort food of choice lately, Lao Laan Xang is a close second.
Music-wise, I'm kind of all over the place. I guess I've really been into Cat Stevens this past winter, though that's giving way to the more upbeat sounds of Sam Cooke, Ann Peebles, Otis Redding and, somehow, the Fugees et al. The Talking Heads and some old Ween and Beastie Boys are in the mix as well. I'm sure that will change by the time you read this.
Almost finished with "Skinny Dip," by Carl Hiaasen. Pretty, pretty, pretty good.
The six things I could never do without
Good friends, warm/cool sheets (weather dependant), Valentina hot sauce, multiple alarm clocks, all night conversation and a sixth thing.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
global events, local issues, how people interact, historical connections, scientific independence, civil rights, why I'm not sleeping right now and my unlucky house plants.
Why the ads on this page are asking me to participate in a survey regarding my preference for different brands of margarine? Is this not Wisconsin?
On a typical Friday night I am
50% of the time I'm out on the town, 25% hanging at home with friends playing euchre, grilling out or sitting on the porch. 25% working late or enjoying my own company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've never won a game of scrabble, though not for lack of trying.
I have ten neices and nephews, and most of them think I'm the cool uncle - don't tell my siblings.
I may or may not have Willie Nelson's private phone number in my contacts.
You should message me if
If "excess in moderation" is a good descriptor of your life.
If you have plenty of embarrassing stories to tell, and you're willing to eventually share them.
If you own a copy of, "Places We Save."
If you have a good sense of humor.