danie1020
29 Quincy, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
danie1020
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm originally from Alaska and love the outdoors. I feel most at home in the mountains but I'll settle for lakes, the ocean and forests. After a recent change of jobs I have been able to make time for hiking and kayaking. My dog is my constant companion. She is often invited over to my friends' houses and was a regular in the office at my old job. I'm slowly working through a long list of projects to make my house my own. I'm not afraid to rip out drywall or lay down flooring--I prefer to leave the electrical work to the professionals though...

As much as I like being out side I'm also happy at home snuggled up with a good book and a cup of tea.
What I’m doing with my life
I am very interested in social justice and accessible mental health care around the world. My summer in Rwanda was amazing. I studied the impact of expressive writing on trauma.

I love my job as a counselor. I make time to "practice what I preach." My "self-care" this summer consisted of landscaping, planting a garden, hiking and teaching my 11 year old dog to swim.
I’m really good at
listening to people. I know that's cliche but I think that's really important in a relationship.
The first things people usually notice about me
I might be a little shy. My sisters say that when I really get going my laugh sounds like a turkey gobbling.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Spilling Open, In the Name of Salome, Sight Hound, Contents May Have Shifted, Bird By Bird, Writing Down the Bones, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time...I was an English teacher so this list is actually impossibly long list.

Movies: Baraka, Little Miss Sunshine, 13 Conversations About One Thing

Music: The Be Good Tanyas, Mumford and Sons, Florence and the Machine, Of Monsters and Men, Skylar Grey, Rachel Platten, Stephanie Dosen, Agnes Obel, Snow Patrol, A Fine Frenzy, Erin McKeown, Bon Iver, Catherine Feeny, Feist, Lykke Li, Coldplay... anything that's kind of smooth and chill.
The six things I could never do without
1. Art
2. Friends
3. My pups
4. Chocolate
5. Nature
6. Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how people buy drinks for girls in bars. Why can't people do that in book stores? If I'm looking at a novel in a book store and some person walks up to me, strikes up a conversation and offers to buy the book for me there is a lot better chance of that working out in their favor.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends. It's usually make your own pizza night at my place.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm very forgetful. I will remember that I was supposed to remember something but that's about all I can give you. So I rely on sticky notes and reminders on my phone.
You should message me if
--you understand why all relationships should evolve out of friendships
--you are looking for a partner who enjoys outdoor adventures more than movies
--you are okay that my dog is a priority
More