62 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Bright, irreverent and funny. Introverted but social. Day job involves working with computers but I'm also a serious artist and a semi-serious musician. Whimsical intellectual with unusual interests but also practical and down-to-earth. Very kind-hearted but not the kind to suffer fools gladly.

Please be aware that I now self-identify as atheist/skeptic. I'm also very liberal/left-wing/progressive/Democrat. "Never say never", but it's unlikely that I'm going to be open to going out with someone whose values don't mesh with mine.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to accomplish some things and have some fun in the present while looking out for my future. Simplifying my life, trying to let go of things that don't work for me and find and embrace things that do.

Although I am good at my work and have found a niche where I can enjoy the work I do, it's a job rather than a calling. I try to find my bliss outside of the office.

The two best jobs I ever had were in college: (1) "Psychological Aide" in a children's ward at a regional hospital. It was non-paying, I hadn't been able to find a paying job and wanted to get out of the house. Essentially, I rocked babies and talked and played board games with older kids. (2) Projectionist -- I showed at least 6 Hollywood films a week and also worked for various clubs showing kung fu movies, winners of advertising awards, etc. I also was on the film committee that selected films.

As I move toward retirement I hope to do more work (paid or unpaid) in social services, political activism and the arts. I also love to travel and I haven't done nearly enough of it.
I’m really good at
learning new things out of books, which is an essential skill in my work. Speaking out in a good cause. Other things people tell me I'm good at -- listening, honesty (I get mixed ratings on diplomacy), humorous point of view, making art that doesn't look like anyone else's.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height, hence "dctallgal". I'm also heavy and broad shouldered. The Viking ancestry predominates. I tend to be rather reserved in unfamiliar situations/large groups of people but I can be very talkative when I'm comfortable.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I used to be quite the film buff and enjoy many genres. I go to a few foreign films every year and see a few films for the special effects even if I'm not crazy about the story. I enjoy documentaries, romantic comedies.

I like some of just about every kind of music but Rock and Roll/Blues probably tops the list. I look for cool sounds that surprise me. I like a music style less after it's become formulaic/commercial.

I read a lot, mostly non-fiction.

I don't eat much junk food and I try to avoid chain restaurants. I like balanced meals and lots of fruits and vegetables, try to hold down the carbs. Pretty much any ethnic food is OK with me except Tex-Mex or Ethiopian. I'm not too crazy about really hot food in general but I do like Thai. Afghan, Moroccan or Lebanese probably would be my favorite. I also enjoy tapas.
The six things I could never do without
I never know what to do with these questions, but here's an attempt: books, a good cup of tea, nature, supplies to create things, my glasses, good conversation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how life is short, and the lists of things I want to do are very long.
On a typical Friday night I am
often at work so I can get something done while it's quiet. If not, I'm usually at home. I prefer to go out when it's not so crowded.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I love to try new things. Recently that has included acting classes, rumba lessons, a lecture on hypnosis and a comedy workshop.
You should message me if
you want to. If you're open-minded and tolerant, smart and well-informed. If you like good conversation and "friends first" that might end up just being friends (we'd have to see how it goes).

Please be aware, though, that despite being old, fat and tall 😎 I do get quite a few approaches. Or perhaps because of that. I suspect a lot of these are from parasites who want to take advantage of an older, lonely woman who will do anything to get a man. (Boy, have you got a wrong number.)

If you can't manage to fill out a complete profile with decent spelling and grammar and do better than, "You're beautiful babe, call me" or "I'm too busy to login here, send me email at xxx and tell me all about yourself", chances are you won't hear from me. Ditto if you're not in reach of the DC metro system or we don't have some strong interests in common. I don't plan to drop everything I'm interested in to fit seamlessly into your life and I don't expect you to do that for me either, so while we don't need to do everything together we do need some common ground.