45Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I just moved to Brooklyn, after a year of traveling the world. Istanbul and Berlin were my favorite two cities from my travels – each full of mystery and promise. If there's anything I could say I definitely want in my life or a relationship, it's those two things – mystery to keep drawing me in further, and the promise of the beautiful, of someday making it my own.

I like men who are engaged with the world – curious, articulate, compassionate, and willing to act on their convictions. I admire drive and discipline and creativity. Passion is welcome too (both in and out of bed!)

And though this summary comes of as serious (I do have my serious moments), I usually find a lot around me that's entertaining/exciting/exhilarating. In other words, don't be scared: I get high on little, and that makes me a cheap date :)
What I’m doing with my life
I used to be a computer scientist. I had a dance theater company for some time on the side. I quit my job, got an MFA in creative writing (fiction), and am currently working on my first novel.
I’m really good at
Making plans and sticking to them, cooking, listening and making intelligent remarks on subjects I have little knowledge of, trying out new things to become better at.
The first things people usually notice about me
I fit well in suitcases.
I smile a lot, though you wouldn't think that from my photos – my eyes crinkle close when I smile (blame my father for that), and don't make for pretty pictures.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My idols are currently Tolstoy, Kundera, Italo Calvino, Marilyn Robinson, Ishiguro, Steve Reich, Piazolla, Arvo Part, Nina Simone. My guilty pleasures include crime thrillers (I grew up on a diet of Agatha Christie and Alistair MacLean and James Bond), warm upside down chocolate cake (I have a fabulous 15 minute recipe), and any music that starts me dancing.
Six things I could never do without
The sun & blue skies, indian food, some form of physical activity (sex counts too, but more frequently running and biking!), reading, laughing, writing
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The book I'm writing, politics, friends & family, the place of the beautiful in our ordinary lives.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually something lowkey – dinner with friends, art music or dance concerts, or just chilling at home with a book or a dvd.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I always wanted to be a detective or a magician when I grew up.
You should message me if
Write anyway, you've nothing to lose.
(But please be available, willing to meet, and open to seeing where things lead.)
The two of us