46Esquimalt, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a big, furry, pansexual cuddle slut. I have a long-term partner Andy but we see other people.

I have geek tendencies (I used to work at Microsoft doing speech recognition.) Since then I have delivered sailboats from Hawaii, attended the Northwest School of Wooden Boatbuilding, built a mast and other repairs on a 55 year old wooden schooner, sailed the schooner up in Canada for the summers, and spent a lot of time in the woods. I did a primitive living skills apprenticeship with Earthwalk Northwest in Issaquah. In 2008 I moved back to Canada and am now in Victoria, BC having just finished a PhD at UVic. I also still spend some time on my boat and spend a lot of time at the Victoria Makerspace.

I'm also back and forth to San Francisco a fair amount, where I teach at Singularity University and hang out in South San Francisco on a boat there. If you see my city change, that's why! Just wait a bit and I'm sure I'll change it back (Unless I forget, so say hi anyway!)

I'd love to meet fun people for dating, sailing, kayaking, camping, cooking, foraging, or any combination of the above.

I date all flavours of people. And particularly enjoy people who don't entirely colour inside the lines.
What I’m doing with my life
Sailing and woodworking and writing, playing in the woods with elves and punks and anarchists, learning what kind of seaweeds I can eat, listening to good music. Playing with synthetic biology at makerspace. Working on my boat.
I’m really good at
Solving problems, stirring up trouble, listening.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm really something of a geek. You can hear me geek out about biology on my 2011 TEDxVictoria talk
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance, Numerical recipes in C, Lord of the Rings (of course)

movies: Lord of the rings, Y tu mama tambien, Amelie

music: not too fond of most rap or country, but aside from that I listen to most everything

foods: curry. yum. I have a host of recently discovered food allergies, so I'm eating lots of seafood and veggies these days. Since that's what I can collect from the sea and forest it works out best that way anyways!
Six things I could never do without
aside from the smartass "air and water" kind of answers I don't honestly believe that there's anything I couldn't do without.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Biology and computers.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sitting around reading, coding, going out with friends, watching a movie, surfing the internet, cuddling with you!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll admit most anything... what do you want to know? pansexuality? kinky? BDSM? genderfucking? Just ask...
You should message me if
you're adventurous and caring and interesting.
The two of us