33Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am pretty laid back guy looking for a long term relationship.

I like to mix it up, and I'm usually out doing something most nights. I have a couple circles I run in, and I enjoy being someone they can count on. When I travel (which I love to do), my favorite part is meeting people from other cultures. Also, I hang out with cat, Roland, on occasion--he's my role model, I aspire to his laziness.

I'm definitely a bit nerdy. I like reading classic novels and watching art house films. But I enjoy my escapism as well, so I'm really happy to watch cartoons or see a mindless comedy.

I enjoy cooking, especially a bit of the spicy stuff. My gotos recently have been chicken curry and pulled pork, but I love exploring the culinary world. I'm have been moving low carb and that's a fun challenge.

That's a pretty simple summary right there. What else? I am an INJF according to the MB what-have-you, but not too strongly in any of those directions, which means I share characteristics with Mother Teresa, Nelson Mandela, and Nicole Kidman, but I am much cuter than all of them.
What I’m doing with my life
I work for a medium sized publisher managing their web content. It's a little bit techy and little bit markety, a nice little medium. It's a nice place to work and keeps the roof over head. Plus, it's an ever evolving landscape, so that keeps it challenging. But I'm not really just content with just that. I've been kicking around the idea of starting up my own company soon; probably starting as something I do in my spare time, and see where it goes.

Trying to be more healthy--eating better and working out more frequently. Can't decide though if I like morning or evening workouts.

So I'm looking to grow, and interested to see where that takes me. I do love this area and wouldn't mind sticking around, but I am open for a change. Most importantly, I want to figure that out with a long term partner, and I'm prepared to be flexible if I need to.
I’m really good at
Some people say I'm pretty good at trivia. I like to host it once a month or so, that's really fun. I'm also pretty into Jeopardy, I watch a couple times a week.

I like to think I'm pretty good at talking to people and figuring out how they tick. It's really all about listening.

Some people think I'm good at cooking, but I feel like I still have lots to learn.
The first things people usually notice about me
My dashing good looks of course. Most people don't tell you what they noticed first about you, so you should let me know.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like a lot of books, but Confederacy of Dunces is usually my first recommendation, followed by The Name of the Rose. I am a big Hemingway fan, as well as Hesse, and any number of others from that generation(-ish).

I am pretty open when it comes to the movies and music. I like older movies and foreign flicks, as well as anything that stimulates my thought muscle, but I will also go in for the bigger name blockbusters and cute kid films, like Up. Some of my favorite movies include The Big Lebowski, Crimes and Misdemeanors, and anything Wes Anderson.

Music I believe is situation appropriate. If I am out having a drink, then jazz is the best; if I'm driving in the car, I like something up tempo to keep me awake. 80s music is always appropriate, especially the more inappropriate the music. If I am relaxing at home, or throwing a party, I generally like some mellow music with a fun kick--Slavic Soul Party, anyone?

I like to be adventurous with my food. Spicy is a plus.
Six things I could never do without
1. My phone. It's my lifeline, unfortunately.

2. My watch. I need it to tell time, because without it I would have to look at my phone, or, heaven forbid, a clock. I enjoy being on time, something that was ground into my skull after four years of high school football.

3. Friends and family. l like most of them.

4. My car. I'm in love with the little guy.

5. The beach on Lake Michigan. I grew up on this beach, and it is one of the places that I can I always return to if I need to chill and rejuvenate myself.

6. my cat Roland. He is just awesome.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I've been thinking about my next career move a lot. What skills should I pick up? Where am I going to find the time to update my resume? Should I start a new business? I think about this stuff too much.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing something new, hopefully. Either out with my friends checking out some new place or catching a show. But I'm pretty happy just meeting up and blowing off steam at my local establishment. I like weekend activities.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't like keeping secrets, but I will tell you that I distrust really tall people. What are they doing way up there? What secrets are they keeping from us?
You should message me if
You want to meet someone who is laid back, goofy, and tries their best to be a good, caring person. Or if you got something fun you want to check out.
The two of us