50Lake Oswego, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Me? Well I guess I'm a recovering 90s Gen X drummer-turned-normal-guy...whatever the eff that is!

(And for you long-time Portlanders, despite my username, no I was not in the Dharma Bums, although they were a great band back in the day. I was, however, in a number of other bands in the late 80s-early-90s).

I love spending time with my son (he's 20, smarter than me, and currently lives with his mom), listening to music, reading, writing, exercising, and wandering (usually aimlessly) through the great outdoors, rain or shine. I work a lot but also try to make time for play and for being a lazy bum.

I see a sense of humor as a necessary survival skill, and someone who can converse about the deepest, heaviest topics but still retain a Taoist-like sense of humor about it all is someone I automatically like. Besides humor, I guess I’m attracted to an odd mix of wicked sass, edgy intelligence, and a sense of romance about love and about life in general.

I tend to be easy-going but occasionally intense (especially when I'm working). I try to keep in shape but I’m no Adonis (workin' on it!). I feel confident in myself but I’m also aware that I have my moments of neurotic self-loathing (they pass pretty quickly most of the time). I'm also kind of a geek, and know far too much about sci-fi books and movies than I like to admit, And while some say I am dark and mysterious, the truth is I'm usually pretty easy to read. Most of my moods can be determined by looking at my eyes, but I will never hesitate to tell you what I'm thinking if you ask me.

Friends say I'm generous, maybe a little too trusting, I smell nice (usually), and am good in a crisis (but please, let's keep the crises to minimum, mmmkay?) Like a good snow shovel or a fire extinguisher, I've been told I'm "great to have around."

(Also, I can't see "likes" so fire off a note if you wish).
What I’m doing with my life
I love my job, I work hard at it, and it's rewarding but demanding. Please note that this does NOT mean I am super-wealthy (although I'm pretty open to the idea!). I do work quite a bit which can sometimes put a crimp in the relationship plans. But I try to make time for other things too.

I spend my off hours writing (currently trying to negotiate a publishing deal), and delving into the vintage "why's" of life. I always carry something with me to read. I like sports (mostly baseball), and I meditate on a regular basis. I workout at least 3 - 4 times a week. I love the outdoors (especially the ocean) but don't get as much time to play outside as I'd like. I also greatly enjoy a fine single malt scotch and a nice nap (sometimes in succession!)
I’m really good at
Visiting profiles more than once, conversation, humor, Jenga (don't test me, woman), stealing the remote, philosophizing, hiking, spooning, lifting heavy stuff (but not repeatedly), ambient lighting, raking leaves, chess, making guacamole and margaritas, drumming, staring at a stunning set of eyes, house-cleaning, video games, noticing body language, driving long distances on one cup of coffee (lotsa cream, little sugar), dog whispering, talking my way into bar fights, tempting fate, holding hands, Pictionary, remembering the name of that one guy from that one thing, talking my way out of bar fights, being a smartass, listening to what you're trying to tell me, trivia, inventing nicknames, sending you love notes, thumb-wrestling, neuroscience, writing, finding good places to eat and drink after midnight, remembering lyrics, shooting free throws, reading aloud, foot rubs (certain restrictions apply) and napping.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I probably haven't shaved in a couple days. If you want a clean-shaved guy, I'm not your man - except on Sundays or Wednesdays maybe. I suppose I can be reserved at first, but I open up once you get to know me (and vicey versey). Oh, and my incredibly long tail.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies! Star Wars, Amadeus, Blade Runner, O Brother, Where Art Thou, Sunshine, Solaris, Inception, Lost in Translation, The Princess Bride, MSTK3000, Pee Wee's Big Adventure, Rear Window, Hitchhiker's Guide, Baraka, Kings Speech, Truman Show, Tron, Gravity, LOTR, Mirrormask, Hot Fuzz, Napoleon Dynamite, Die Hard. Most Woody Allen films. I also inherited a love of the classics from my mom.

Music? EVERYTHING (almost). Brian Eno, Foo Fighters, Ingrid Michaelson, Beastie Boys, Debussy, U2, Radiohead, Sinatra, Peter Gabriel, Chris Isaak, Black Keys, Florence and the Machine, Thievery Corp, Beatles, Portishead, Elbow, Harold Budd, Deftones, Beck, The Police, Muse, 80s rock, Shpongle, Patrick O'Hearn, John Mayer, Miles Davis, Louis Armstrong, Moby, Audioslave, RATM, NIN, GnR, FToL and other acronymically-named bands.

Books. Anything about quantum physics, history, neuroscience, some sci-fi like Neil Gaiman, Larry Niven, Arthur C. Clarke. Siddhartha (Hesse), The Brothers K (David James Duncan), Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, God's Debris, Four Agreements, Ender's Game, The Alchemist, The Artist's Way, and Never Tease a Weasel. Also, any philosophy, social sciences, and of course, anything by Christopher Moore (try Fluke or A Dirty Job if you're new to his stuff). Currently reading a biography of Joe DiMaggio and "Modernism" by Peter Gay. I'm usually reading three to five books at a time (well, you know, not at the EXACT same time).

Food!!! I love Indian, Italian, Thai, and some Mexican. I love a night of fine dining, but am also happy tracking down a good cheeseburger at some dive bar in the middle of the night (is there anything better than a Killer Burger with peanut butter, pickles, and bacon? No, there is not.). I also love salsa, teriyaki, avocados, wine, coffee, and cheese. I would marry cheese, but I think that's still illegal in most states.
Six things I could never do without
1) Time with my son
2) Spontaneous road trips
3) A sense of humor
4) Something inspiring to read
5) A pen and notebook
6) Access to the ocean
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...why in the hell I'm doing the online dating thing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Playing video games with my son, seeing a movie, wandering through an art gallery, listening to Radiolab, experimenting in the kitchen, dinner with friends, or conversing with someone in a secluded location about why the world is so bizarre/unfair/bittersweet/wonderful.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I let the dogs out.
You should message me if
...you appreciate a wicked sense of humor, enjoy talking about books, art, music, and life, and think romance is worth the effort...

...Or if you notice any article of clothing I'm wearing is on fire. Please do alert me in that event. Thx.
The two of us