51San Jose, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
OK, I admit it. I suck at describing myself in an essay.

If you want to know something I don't cover here, just ask. I'm not easily offended or startled. We're all adults here, right?

I'm generally a happy person. I try not to sweat the small stuff. (Life's too short). I'm into lots of things and curiosity leads to me being easily distracted on a regular basis. I can focus when I have to or when something's really interesting to me, but, left to my own devices, I might start out researching a place for dinner and wind up following that to a link on some ethnic food I've never heard of which then leads to a more thorough study of the ethnicity and culture that created the food and next thing I know, I'm trying to learn yet another alphabet. (I've learned American(latin), Polish(latin variant), Vietnamese (latin w/tonal specifications), Cyrillic (Russian), and Hangul (Korean) so far.) I want to learn the Thai alphabet since it's really pretty, but, it's also proven to be somewhat elusive to my ability to study it so far. I might eventually try to learn the Arabic alphabet as well (imagine using arabic letters as variables along side the arabic numbers we use for math... ok, maybe not).

I love to travel.

I think I'm already kind of rambling, but there's lots more to me than you'll see in a profile essay and I think it's worth getting to know me if any of the above makes you at all curious.

Yes, I have a good sense of humor.
Yes, I like dogs, cats, etc. though I don't have (or want) any of my own at the moment. (too hard to properly care for with my travel schedule)
Yes, I like beaches (though I'm more likely to head for the bottom of the ocean).
I like a wide variety of foods, especially flavorful ones like Thai, Korean, Moroccan, Mexican, Vietnamese, etc.
What I’m doing with my life
I make my living as a network engineer, primarily around a new protocol for the internet known as IPv6. In my free time, I like to fly small airplanes and teach SCUBA diving and dive-related medical classes. I also build and fly high-power rockets on occasion.

There's lots more, but, we have to have something to talk about when we meet, right?
I’m really good at
Putting my foot in my mouth.
Flying an airplane on instruments.
Teaching people to SCUBA dive.
Being a nerd's nerd.
Making people laugh at me and occasionally with me.

Though I can usually only do 2, maybe 3 of these things at a time.
The first things people usually notice about me
My extreme confidence in my (occasionally) incorrect sense of direction.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV/Movies: Sci-fi, action, adventure, the occasional "chick-flick" and good literature.

Music -- totally eclectic all over the map. Almost anything that isn't country, rap, or elevator-music.

Food -- All over the map, literally. Love Thai, Korean, American BBQ, Ethiopean, Italian, Moroccan, Greek, Persian, Mexican, Japanese (though not into Sushi), Chinese, Vietnamese, Malay, Indonesian, Indian, Brazilian, Russian, and more.
Six things I could never do without
My friends
International Cuisine (Thai, Korean, Mexican, Ethiopean, Moroccan, etc.)
The internet
my iPad
The ocean
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to use the internet to better unite the peoples of the world and bring about a more common understanding and appreciation of our diversity while recognizing that we have more in common than not.

Looking for ways to leverage that understanding and knowledge into an end to armed conflict.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lost somewhere on planet earth enjoying a new adventure.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That's between me and the NSA... And I didn't volunteer it to them.
You should message me if
you have a good sense of humor, don't mind laughing at yourself occasionally, don't sweat the small stuff, but, appreciate the little wonders along the way.
The two of us