dkhofer
41 Cambridge, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
dkhofer
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Tall, low-maintenance nerd seeking attractive, intelligent woman. Hopefully I'm not asking for too much.

I'm pretty serious and thoughtful, but I like to think I have a good sense of humor too. Either Steven Wright or Dave Chappelle is my favorite comedian but I'm not sure which.

I grew up in a small rural town in New York State, but I've lived in small or large cities since college, and I can't picture going back to the country. There are things about it that I miss, like the stillness and stars at night and the smells of fresh cut grass and hay. But cities just have way too much going on.

I like the outdoors (as you can see in my picture) but am equally happy to sit around reading. I try to alternate between weekends when I get out and do stuff and quiet ones for catching up on reading and personal projects.

I voted for Hillary and attended the Boston Women's March.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in the tech industry as a software engineer. I try to work for companies that have a chance of doing some good in the world (as well as succeeding financially). At the moment I'm at a pretty neat biotech company and helping with internal apps that help the biology people track their experiments. I got into programming because it was fun, but it seems I'm good at understanding and troubleshooting systems that other people have built. There's an old ad about a company that doesn't make things, but instead makes them better. That's what I do, and I like it.

Apart from work, my main hobby is square dancing, which may sound hokey, but is actually quite complex and interesting. At the higher levels, calls can be modified in many different ways, so it's like you're trying to solve an elegant little puzzle the caller has set for you, in real time.

I also try to keep in shape, mainly by running. A couple years ago I decided to sign up for a 5K race every month for a year and mostly succeeded. Sometimes this caused me to race somewhere I had never been, which was cool. Anyway, I still get out for a run at least once a week, usually at least 5 miles.

I try to keep in touch with friends and relatives, and visit my parents multiple times a year.
I’m really good at
Computer stuff. Usually.

Listening. Explaining things.

Taking a step back and not overreacting. Empathy.

Judging how much I'll like a movie based on the preview.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall and white. Blah!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I mostly read nerd stuff like essays on software development and also biotech, but I enjoyed the Hunger Games and also the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. "How Buildings Learn" by Stewart Brand. I'm currently reading a book called "Ravens in Winter", by a University of Vermont professor who studied how ravens share food (or not) in order to get through winter, and it's actually a really interesting detective story!

Movies: I watched a bunch in the late 90's so there's kind of a bias there, but: Fight Club, The Big Lebowski, Spirited Away, The Bourne trilogy, anything by Joss Whedon, Blue/White/Red by Kieslowski, After Hours, How To Train Your Dragon, The Thin Red Line, Gravity. I can't resist any Marvel movie.

TV shows: 30 Rock, The Wire, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Firefly.

Music: Mostly indie and electronica, stuff that white people like. Kiasmos, Aes Dana, Hot Chip, Radiohead, Daft Punk. Some movie soundtrack music--Hans Zimmer, but also background music from Gravity, X-Men: First Class, Tron: Legacy (yes, that's Daft Punk), and Oblivion. But I'm pretty open and if you name a genre I can probably tell you an artist I like for it. Like, if it's rap I'm a fan of Wu Tang, and also Handsome Boy Modeling School.

Food: Stuff with cheese in or on it, like pizza, burritos, lasagna, and grits. Thai food. When I cook I often use my crock pot, sometimes for stew, sometimes for Indian curries.
The six things I could never do without
- Coffee
- Beer
- Getting out into the big wide world to explore new places
- My phone, sigh.
- A desk with a nice view of the outdoors
- Some quiet time to catch up on reading
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to improve the computer systems that my company runs on (and sometimes the human systems :-)

What life will be like in 10 or 20 years, given that computers are getting exponentially faster, and also sequencing and synthesizing genomes are also getting exponentially faster.

Whatever random web link has most recently caught my attention, like the Mongol sack of Baghdad in 1258.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends and/or coworkers (who are also friends), or chilling at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like certain Coldplay songs.
You should message me if
I seem like someone you want to get to know better, duh!
More