39San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm originally from North Carolina, but have been in California 9 years now. While SF is home, you can take the boy out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the boy. Travel is my greatest passion (other than family). I love seeing and experiencing new things, spending time with friends and family (emphasis on conversation and laughter), reading and the outdoors. I strongly believe that it is far easier to be kind to others than not.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in banking, and work hard, but feel that what is truly important in life happens outside the walls of any office. There is so much of this world to see, and I'm actively trying to see as much of it as possible while I am able. I am also trying to be the best son, brother, friend, human I can be.
I’m really good at
Understanding, laughing, smiling, enjoying life, helping those close to me, forgiving, singing along to my playlist as I walk down the street without caring, not worrying about the little things, procrastinating...
The first things people usually notice about me
People often tell me I look like someone, but it is rarely the same person. I'd have to say my friendliness (i.e., easy smile) or possibly my eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books/Plays: Anything by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Michael Crichton or Ken Follet; The House of Mirth, The Alienist, Lolita, Reading Lolita in Tehran, Parfum, The Glass Menagerie, Les Misrables; Sartre's letters to Simone de Beauvoir; biographies; re-reading childhood favorites...

Movies: Life Is Beautiful, The House of Yes, Steel Magnolias, Best in Show, Shawshank Redemption, Beaches, Smoky Mountain Christmas (don't laugh, I told you you can't take the country out of the boy)...

Shows: Modern Family, House Hunters International, Game of Thrones, Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, True Blood, Downton Abbey. And I still love reruns of Mad About You (to me they had a chemistry that I'd love to one day have with my partner).

Music: All (as long as I can sing along to it). While I'll never be a musician, music plays a huge part in life. I believe you should sing everyday (loudly and unabashedly); it is good for the soul. Having said that, you'll find the following included on my 25 most played in iTunes: Adele, Amy Winehouse, Dolly Parton, Mumford & Sons, John Legend, Nicki Minaj, Britney Spears, Randy Travis, Mumford and Sons, Ellie Goulding, Maroon 5, Snoop Dog, Bob Marley, Cold Play, Alison Kraus, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Shakira, The Strokes, Robyn...

Food: I like it all and will try anything once. Having grown up in the south, I love a good biscuit or some fried okra. However, those are rare guilty pleasures. I typically gravitate toward Sushi, Pho, American or Chinese. I love trying new restaurants, but as much for the experience as the food itself.
Six things I could never do without
1. Love
2. My family
3. My close friends
4. Music
5. Travel
6. Oxygen?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything. While I'm very outgoing, I am also pensive by nature. I think self reflection is very important. If you don't really know yourself, you'll never truly be able to 'be' with someone else.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends (maybe a bar, maybe someone 's house, maybe a club, but with friends).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That I'm not good at revealing private details publicly ;-)

But, ask me one on one and I have no secrets.
You should message me if
You feel so inclined...
The two of us