dorfish
41 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
dorfish
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I love learning about how all sorts of things work: societies, economies, mechanical and electronic devices, the human body, etc. Besides my work, teaching in the social sciences, this has led to various hobbies since I've been a teenager, starting with stereo equipment and more recently gardening and woodworking.

I'm quite a social person, who likes to talk, play sports (at a poor to middling level), hike and swim. But, I need my quiet time, reading, cooking, listening to on point and science friday.

I specialize in little adventures, with the emphasis on little. Small outings here and there to hike and explore. In the past, I lived in a number of European and American cities, but lately I've been enjoying my rural adventures much more than the urban ones. I'd like to see more of the countryside abroad.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm teaching upstate in a small town which I love. But I'm often in DC or NYC for the weekend.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: If you watch the videos of Elvis Costello’s “I can’t stand up for falling down,” the Specials’ “A message to you Rudy” (OGWT, 1979), Daft Punk’s “One more time,” and then listen to Jackson Browne’s first album, Bonnie Raitt’s “Streetlights,” and Joni Mitchell’s “Court and Spark,” you pretty much know everything about me.

Books: Some old time favorites: Heinlein, esp. Time for the Stars and Time enough for love; Kipling’s Kim; Thackeray’s The Newcomes; Graham Swift, Waterland; Waugh; Wodehouse (of course); Philip Roth.
More recently: Justin Cronin, The Passage; Peter Watts’ Blindsight; Jon Sayles’ Moment in the Sun.
The six things I could never do without
1. Baked goods
2. NPR app
3. solitude or near solitude in the outdoors
4. swimming
5. foreign languages
6. family
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Theories of the state, political legitimacy, whether I can make my woodworking more mathematical and precise, historic preservation, health, food.
On a typical Friday night I am
At shabbat services, having dinner with friends, relaxing.
You should message me if
You are kind and gentle, you like to chat but also need quiet time, you have passions and interests that I could peek into now and then. Above all, I would like to meet someone I can learn from and who would want to join me on little adventures now and then (and possibly encourage me to take bigger ones).
More