70Falls Church, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm retired from a career doing statistical research concerning the operation of the federal courts. Although that sounds very scholarly, and I do have an active and curious mind, I'm also very down-to-earth. I do woodworking, abstract art, make electronics gizmos, and generally enjoy being creative or inventive. I also enjoy the outdoors, including boating, fishing, or just wandering in the woods. I have a second home in the woods on a cliff overlooking the Potomac river in Falling Waters, WV. I live near my two children and one grandchild, and feel fortunate that I have frequent contact with them. I relate best to people in small groups or one-on-one. I'm basically somewhat shy or introverted, but I can be very charming and interesting when relating to a woman I like. I do not know how to put on airs, and I'm a lousy liar. I tend to be nice, sincere, caring, generous with those I care for, as well as in some ways naive and poor at being tactful. What you see is what you get, and it's mostly very good, but with a few rough spots.

Here are two lists that may help describe me.

We are probably NOT compatible if:
You shop only at Saks, Nordstom's, and the like;
You would never set foot in a Walmat
You love going to New York to see a play or show
You are religious or are into spiritual or mystical things (but meditation, yoga, and the like are fine).

We might be compatible if:
You like dogs
You don't like to shop for clothes
You like science
You enjoy crafts, DIY projects, cooking, or gardening
You love outdoor activities, but don't equate this to exercise
You tend to be skeptical of claims made for health foods, cosmetics, and herbal remedies
Your politics are something other than very liberal or very conservative, at least in their modern connotations.
Whether you support them or not, you think there are much more important political issues than gay marriage, abortion rights, and gun control
What I’m doing with my life
Looking for love, and trying to have fun being creative.
I’m really good at
Thinking, creating, solving problems, home repair
The first things people usually notice about me
The bolts of lightning coming off my fingertips? I figure they must notice, although no one has actually ever commented on them. Food for thought, I guess.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read in spurts, and read very diverse books. I still think Crime and Punishment is probably the best (and most depressing) book I've read, I really liked the Life of Pi but haven't seen the movie. I like a variety of music but I'm not on top of it to be able to describe what I like. I'm not big on movies and shows, but if I love you, you can take me anywhere (well, opera would be tough). I eat pretty much anything.
Six things I could never do without
I could do without questions like this one.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
things: simple things, complex things, stupid things. I'm pretty much always thinking about something.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing something, but there is no typical Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I often find that my thoughts have taken me to some place, and then simply can't understand how I got there or why I'm thinking about whatever it is. Does that ever happen to you?
You should message me if
You might fall in love with me and think I might fall in love with you.
You probably need to enjoy a man who likes to talk about ideas between bouts of tender/passionate kissing
The two of us