dredwerkz
34 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
dredwerkz
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
An irreligious, multilingual, acrophile who loves anything to do with science, photography, fitness, travel and the outdoors.

A good portion of my childhood was spent moving from place to place and school to school. This as well as the fact that I am of mixed ethnicity (Eurasian/Hapa) - my mother is Irish and my father is of Chinese, Malay and Melanau descent - has allowed me to be exposed to different cultures and religions. Despite being indoctrinated as a child, I remain irreligious to this day.

The more counter-intuitive scientific branches have always intrigued me. I love the theoretical aspects of Relativity, Astrophysics and Nuclear Physics and have been studying them informally since I was a teenager. I also enjoy Astrophotography because you end up capturing things that you wouldn't normally see with the naked eye. Once you see that faint small patch up there in Andromeda and travel back 2.5 million years into the past, you realise that both you and your problems are infinitesimally small before soaking up the wonder of being a tiny, yet important piece of this massive jigsaw that we call the Universe.

I have a background in martial arts (Karate, Taekwondo, Muay Thai, BJJ) but also spend a lot of time hiking, rock climbing and scuba diving. I rock climb at least once a week and try to climb everywhere I travel. I'm also an avid scuba diver and am targeting my Rescue diver and Divemaster certifications within the next year or so. I enjoy calisthenics and also run several times a week as I am currently striving to increase my fitness in all aspects (strength, speed, endurance, flexibility, balance, etc). I keep myself motivated by thinking of a survival situation (such as a boat sinking in the middle of the ocean, getting lost in a dense tropical jungle, hanging off the edge of a sheer cliff, etc) and ask myself the question "Will I be able to survive this? ..and if not, what can I do to increase my odds?"

Social, racial and gender inequality and issues such as those pertaining to human rights and apostasy deeply concern me. I was on the board of governors for Amnesty International Malaysia a few years ago and am currently an Admin for some online forums that are related to the topics I just mentioned.

*Personality tests class me as an INTJ :
http://www.okcupid.com/tests/the-long-scientific-personality-test
What I’m doing with my life
Travelling has left me with a constant craving for fresh, new experiences of unfamiliar languages and cultures. I have just come back from a month-long trek to Everest Base Camp and Kathmandu in Nepal and am in the midst of planning a long, extended holiday in Australia as well as an expedition to climb Kilimanjaro next year. I plan to get my divemaster license before I head to Australia in the hope that I can find some work at a diveshop in Cairns (at the Great Barrier Reef).
The first things people usually notice about me
Since I live in Asia it would have to be my height and racial ambiguity.
The six things I could never do without
1) My partner!
2) Watch
3) eBook Reader
4) Passport
5) Toothbrush
6) Coffee
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The content of the book that I am currently reading or of a stimulating conversation that I may have had recently (or perhaps a talk I watched on TED Talks). It could also be about where and when I plan to travel to next and how I will go about making that happen..
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at the local indoor climbing gym or maybe preparing for a weekend of hiking and camping?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I love peanut butter and occasionally scoop up a glob of it onto a tablespoon and eat it like a lollipop!
You should message me if
..you are a scientifically literate non-theist who has an unquenchable thirst to travel and to explore the great outdoors!
More