29 Ithaca, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've joined this site because, to steal a bit from Henry Rollins, "I want to meet a woman who can sit me down, shut me up, and tell me ten things I don't know. And make me laugh. I don't care what you look like- just turn me on. And if you can do that, I will soften your mukluks with my teeth. I will follow you on bare feet through the snow."

I'm looking for someone kind, curious, intelligent, and warm who has a very low tolerance for boredom.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently a graduate student in the sciences at a university in Ithaca, New York. This past semester I mostly spent my time teaching, which was great - I think I'd like to do that when I metamorphose into a PhD.

I like to stay active when I'm not at work- I cook; I take care of my pets (I have 5); I rock climb; I lift; I read. When it's nice out I like hiking and boating out on the lake.
I’m really good at
Remembering the name of that person who was acting in that film that you saw that one time.

Giving gifts (once I get to know someone)

Crossword puzzles. Scrabble.
The first things people usually notice about me
My ethnic ambiguity. (I really like having people guess what I am. I hear all kinds of crazy guesses. Go on and try.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Travels with Charley. Catch-22. Planetary. The Phantom Tollbooth. I switch off between fiction and nonfiction.
Currently reading: The Mars Trilogy, 1984

Movies: Adaptation, Unforgiven, Indiana Jones, Soul Kitchen, Spirited Away. I'm a huge, huge movie geek. I love going to the movies. I listen to film podcasts.
Most recent thing I saw that I loved: Carol.

Shows: The Wire, Breaking Bad, Fargo, ATLA, Firefly. I watch The Daily Show religiously (and have been pretty pleased with the new host). Last Week Tonight.

Music: past favorites include The Kills, The Dead Weather, Janelle Monae, Beck, Radiohead, VNV Nation, Apocalyptica (saw them in concert- they are the best band on earth). I have a completely unironic love of metal music left over from my high school days.
Currently listening to Grimes and CHVRCHES on repeat. Also PPL MVR.

Food: my favorite food is cooked oysters, and seafood in general. Good luck finding that in Ithaca though . I'm a fan of anything with curry. I like to try new things constantly. (I do not identify as a foodie, though. You won't catch me cooing about mouthfeel or anything like that. )
The six things I could never do without
Games and puzzles
Being in a place where I can teach and learn
Corrective lenses
Friends and family
The world always being strange (Let's keep it that way)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Teaching- this is my job right now. I love it.

Preventing epidemic disease with math

Politics- I don't have a political mind, so I read and think about a lot of news commentary to try to figure stuff out.

What I should read next
On a typical Friday night I am
At the movies, games and dinner with friends, resting after a long week.

I think Friday nights are overrated. My favorite time to do stuff is during the day, when there's sun.
You should message me if
... You want to go hiking at Watkins Glen and then try out that gourmet hot dog restaurant
... You want to go to Insectapalooza