dtmtl
31 Boston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
dtmtl
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from Canada (mostly Montreal), just moved to Boston to do a postdoctoral gig after finishing a neuro PhD (mostly psychiatric stuff in the brain).
I aim for balance as much as I can; I'm passionate about my work, but also try to make as much time as I can to go out and meet interesting new people.
What I’m doing with my life
Neuroscience postdoc, BU, mostly depression/suicide research.
Outside of work, I do a bit of volunteer/outreach/advocacy/shenanigans (usually involving writing or going to local schools to talk to students), and for hobbies I'm into working out, reading, writing, kickboxing, kayaking (especially sea), camping, and yoga. Usually not simultaneously, though.
Also traveling, which I'd love to do more of; I was in Japan a few years ago for a little while and Brazil twice last year (all initially for work-related things) and loved them. Indonesia in December.
I’m really good at
I'd love to be able to put "fighting for truth and justice" or something here, but to be honest the most accurate answer would probably be "overthinking what to put in OkCupid response boxes".
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Shows: Game of Thrones, The Wire, Walking Dead, Arrested Development, Archer, House of Cards, The Thick of It, Deadwood, BSG, 30 Rock, pretty much anything by Charlie Brooker.

Music: I always find this one to be tough, but lately: RJD2, Quantic, Herbalizer, Eddie Floyd, Sly and the Family Stone, Miles Davis, Portishead, Misfits, Thievery Corporation, Mr. Scruff.

Books (I'll go by author): Martin Amis, Iain Banks, Ray Bradbury, Junot Diaz, George Orwell, Sam Harris
The six things I could never do without
Purpose, passion, laughter, sleep, irony, curiosity
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The discrepancy between where I'm currently at and where I want to be. And whether that's a good thing to spend a lot of time thinking about. And also brain stuff; whether that's the cause or result of the job is an interesting question in itself.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends (bar/pub/restaurant/friend's place), working late, or maybe relaxing at home (so netflix/PS3/series, etc).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've got the handwriting of a severely disabled 4 year-old being mauled by wolverines. Pretty much all of my early grade school teachers tried valiantly to fix it, and none succeeded at all; I hope it wasn't too much of a self-esteem blow to any of them, at least.
You should message me if
You'd like to meet up for a drink (particularly if you're smart, easy-going, and a good conversationalist).
More