42San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'll go into my interests in a moment, but first I wanted to stress a bit about my character. I am a true believer in the power of community, and I posses a real love for my common man. This is part of the reason I am a teacher. I believe in what I am doing with my life. I'm grounded. I'm self-aware. I don't get hung up on much. I'm earnest, but I don't take myself terribly seriously. I've very aware of the power of ego in myself and others. Physically and mentally I'm rock solid. I love joking around and I enjoy a big night out, but I am the kind of man who is ready to be a consistent and committed presence in the life of the right women.

That was the important bit about who I am; here's some more about what I like to do:

I'm a musician, a worldly and open-minded traveler, an outdoorsman, a nerd for current events, a competitive athlete and a long time practitioner of yoga. For years I spent many weekends of the rainy winter playing competitive rugby, but this is a young man's game, and I am beginning to segue into retirement. Last year I was the oldest starter on my club, this year I am taking a major step back from the time and physical commitment of serious athletics. I will still train some (because I am addicted to cardio fitness) but I will no longer be dedicating most weekends from January to April to stomping other men.

In the place of rugby I hope to spend more time in Tahoe crashing through the tress, and I will be focusing on my new band. I've played bass and guitar in many bands over the years, but this new band is a stretch for me because I am also handling most of the vocals. So far the vibe is great and we just crushed our first show so I am excited to have this new creative outlet up and running.

I am professionally successful, but this is not the focus of my life. If I had to name my life's focus, it would be learning and understanding the world/myself in that world. I've spent a lot of time thinking about what makes humans happy and I've deliberately constructed a reality that makes me very happy. At this stage, I have achieved many of my personal and professional ambitions. As a result, I am most focused on what might be considered the most important life goal: finding you, the ideal partner for the next stage of our lives.
What I’m doing with my life
I went to a couple of those elite east coast schools, and now I am a high school world history teacher. I have a great job at an independent high school. I do pretty much whatever I want in the classroom all day everyday. It's intellectually rigorous and stimulating work.
I’m really good at
Urban adventuring
Making mix CDs
Bullshitting about American/global politics
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot of history/social theory for my job, and I regularly get deep into the NY Times and the New Yorker.

I am definitely a music fan. A few artists and genres: Erykah Badu, Deer Tick, The Hold Steady, Spoon, Jill Scott, The Arcade Fire, The Budos Band, Superchunk, Interpol, Ted Leo, My Morning Jacket, Phish, Broken Social Scene, Radiohead, garage rock, conscious hip hop, Motown (on Mondays!) and dub, roots and dancehall reggae.

I own a TV, but it doesn't get any channels. The only programs I have paid any attention to over the last five years are Mad Men and 30 Rock. I have carefully avoided The Wire because I know I will like it too much, and I've seen too many friends get addicted to Netflix. I know very little about celebrities. I like movies, but I hardly ever go to them. I am much more likely to be found at live music.
Six things I could never do without
Musical instruments
Big headphones
My bike / MUNI
summer vacation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Current events and social theory. Seriously. I am not an academic drag, but I am very aware of national/global political and social trends. I read the paper in depth every day and I think a lot about why events play out as they do and the social/psychological/emotional dynamics that shape the human experience.
On a typical Friday night I am
During rugby/ski/backpacking season: laying low, cooking diner (my mother and my sister are both amazing cooks and I am progressing with the skill set,) going to restorative yoga, playing cards (anything, but poker,) playing guitar, going to bed early.

During the rest of the school year: going out in the city. Most common neighborhoods: Mission, Divisadero, Lower Haight, Polk. I enjoy cocktails. I love to dance.

During the summer: Traveling, forgetting what day it is.
You should message me if
You are into reading books, rocking out, going on trips, camping, eating great food, laying low, going out big every once in a while, thinking big, expressing yourself creatively, knowing the world and yourself in it, forming a lasting partnership with a present and thoughtful man.
The two of us