Avant-gard-en-er
30 Atlanta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Avant-gard-en-er
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an extrovert and an introvert. I'm a romantic and a realist. I am all or nothing. I have too many hobbies and not enough time. I work to live, not live to work. I have been told I have good instincts. I love meeting interesting people and learning what they are all about. I like planning grand adventures and sleeping in on Sundays. I crave intensity, in experiences and relationships, but I consider myself to be fairly 'laid back'. I value empathy, open-mindedness, introspection, whimsy, creativity, and strong convictions. I don't want to lead a predictable life, but I understand the value in consistency. I'm always searching for meaning, truth, and greater knowledge. I'm Jonathan, and feel free to ask me anything else you wanna know!
What I’m doing with my life
-Currently working as a research analyst at a company that does transportation studies. It sounds cool, and it has its moments, but it's really not all that fulfilling and I'm finally working towards changing that.

-Swing and blues dancing

-Riding bikes, hashing, running, working out, playing pick-up basketball, frisbee, soccer games and just generally trying to stay active

-Cooking and eating at new restaurants

Exploring new places, whether that's backpacking in the contemplative solitude of the wilderness, or urbex - ing old abandoned buildings

-Sketching and drawing

-Picking fruit around the city and gardening

-Trying to be socially conscious, and live a simpler, more focused life
I’m really good at
Being a good friend. Coming up with weird dance moves that somehow work. Going hard and having endless energy. Guessing what time it is. Being nimble on my feet. Playing stifling defense and having quick hands (Basketball). Knowing my limits, and sometimes not knowing my limits. Playing the devils advocate, or seeing both sides of any argument too well. Navigating and reading maps. Farming and gardening. Making playlists. Sometimes I can cook a decent meal :-).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food - Pho is my fav. I try to eat healthy.
Movies - Let's go to Videodrome or the drive-in and watch something cheesy.
Music - It's all over the place. Swing era jazz, blues, new wave, math rock, down tempo beats, old school hip hop, old school country, Jangly melancholy indie pop, jam/progressive, I like a lot of variety.
Shows - Lately: True Detective, Bojack Horseman, Space Dandy
The six things I could never do without
-Exploration
-Human connection
-Self expression
-Appreciating the little things in life
-Thinking about the big picture
-Hope for what tomorrow will bring
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Patterns in dance. Self improvement. The best ways to spend my time. Why we think the way we do. Syntax. Procuring sustenance. How I'd rather be in the woods.
On a typical Friday night I am
Could be dancing, roommate hanging, nexflixing, live music, or being an introvert.
You should message me if
You live near Reynoldstown and want a new friends for riding bikes, exploring, and going to fun events around the city, porch drinking, picnicking, hiking, getting cultured, finding interesting foods and drinks to try, or if you need a dance partner!
More