emilyph84
32 Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
emilyph84
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in Pittsburgh, went to Ohio State for my bachelor's and stuck around Columbus for 2.5 years after I graduated, went back to Pittsburgh for grad school, and moved to Chicago in July 2010.

I live up in Rogers Park and really love it. I have a pit bull and have become an advocate on behalf of the breed. I am a little nerdy, a little girly, a little hippie/treehugger. I love reading, going to movies, trying new restaurants, and walking along the shore of Lake Michigan. My newest hobby is genealogy - I've always loved history but not the "this war happened on these dates" kind taught in school, more in an everyday, "what was life like for people back then?" way and old census records and immigration paperwork make it very real and accessible.

I'm looking for dates and maybe a relationship. Looking for a man, NOT a boy - please see Mindy Kaling's thoughts on the matter because she explains it so well.
What I’m doing with my life
Working in graduate admissions at DePaul University. Taking my dog to the beach. Trying to progress through my never-ending pile of Recipes to Try. Going to the farmer's market.
I’m really good at
Organizing, alphabetizing, color coding. Recycling, picking up litter in my neighborhood. Spending too much time on art.com. Bookmarking restaurants I never actually go to (you can help with this one!).
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile. People do not realize it is the result of a palatal expander, braces for over 3 years, jaw surgery, and 15 screws in my upper jaw. All compliments should be directed to Drs Dattilo and Gobbie.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Harry Potter, anything by Nick Hornby, Shakespeare's comedies and tragedies (no histories for me!). And a lot of fluffy chick-lit that you probably don't care about.

Movies: Everything from light fluffy chick flicks to Best Picture nominees. Except horror. No horror movies. My all-time favorite may be Memento, up there with Lars and the Real Girl, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, (500) Days of Summer, and In Bruges. I also like some fluffier movies - Mean Girls, Clueless, 10 Things I Hate About You. My favorite Pixar movie is Finding Nemo.

TV Shows: 30 Rock, Parks & Rec, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Flight of the Conchords, Big Bang Theory, Community, How I Met Your Mother, the Mindy Project. I've been progressing through the Amazon Originals and I loved The Man in the High Castle. Working through Mozart in the Jungle now.

Music: Beatles, Barenaked Ladies, Ben Folds (Five), showtunes. Lately I've been into the Plain White T's and Sara Bareilles.

Food: I'm a vegetarian, but other than that I'm not very picky. I love Indian, Thai and Mexican in the winter. Sushi and salads in the summer. I love anything with eggplant, mango or avocado. I have a major sweet tooth and a slight addiction to Starbucks' iced cinnamon dolce lattes. My favorite dessert is creme brulee.
The six things I could never do without
My dog, internet access, books, Lake Michigan, a comfy bed, and Western medicine.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What recipe should I try next? The lemon basil orzotto or the puff-pastry pizza with tomatoes?
On a typical Friday night I am
At home, watching a DVD with my dog. Going to bed early so that we can be at the beach at 7 AM.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can cook a mean red Thai curry, palak paneer or spanakopita... but I can't cook rice to save my life.
You should message me if
you're looking for more than a hookup and you have something more interesting to say than just "Hi."
More