77 Marietta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born a Georgia peach and an army brat in Ft. Benning, the eldest of seven children. We called many places “Home.” After graduating from Fairfax HS we were transferred to Schoffield Bks in Hawaii. With 2 yr of the U of HAW under my belt I worked as “The Note Dept.” in a Bank of Hawaii branch and then as a ground hostess for Qantas (no”u”)prior to meeting and marrying my Australian. Qantas sent us all over the Pacific area to Singapore where our first son was born; San Francisco, where I had my second son and attended the College of San Mateo and San Francisco State; Manila, Philippines, and Philippine Women’s Uni; Hong Kong - a five year posting, a 10 yr shopping list, and a surprise promotion within the year away from this dream; Suva, Fiji, where Stan ran the regional airline, Air Pacific, I produced our 3rd and 4th sons and squeezed in a couple of courses at the U. of the South Pacific, and with a partner purchased control of Blue Lagoon Cruises; and, at last, Sydney which had always been our home base between postings. We were on our way to Oman in 1979 when we discovered that Stan had become fatally ill with lung cancer. He passed away in ‘80 at age 47.

My children and I moved to the Atlanta area to be close to several siblings and my parents who had retired here from the Army. I finally finished my degree in Psych at Kennesaw State U., and became a real estate agent for a few of the worst years in recent history for that business before this last recession.

I have dabbled and do dabble at many interests: oil and watercolor painting, piano and guitar, acting( Leave Her to Heaven, BoingBoingBoing, Fiddler on the Roof, Drood), singing(Sweet Adelines - Song of Atlanta Chorus, Cobb Comm Chorus for Beethoven’s Ninth), jewelry making, occasional paying jobs(substitute teacher for The Walker School, Apparel Mart and Atlanta Arrangements), sports(tennis, swimming, skiing, Peachtree Roadrace), bridge, volunteer jobs with ACOG ( Atlanta’s summer Olympics) , Special Olympics, Northside Hospital, Humane Soc, St Jude, Clark Howard’s Consumer Action Center, etc.
What I’m doing with my life
Besides those interests previously noted I enjoy travel, gardening, my children, grandchildren, siblings, friends. and whatever piques my interest at the moment.
I’m really good at
Soothing crying children. I've been told that I'm a good dancer....nothing professional by any means. My Ceasar salad is everyone's favorite.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile....even when I'm not smiling :-)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Burr by Gore Vida, John Fowles books, A Rebel Heart by Lovell, American Ceasar, Team of Rivals, opera, classical, favorite oldies, Mad Men, Downton Abby, news programs, and most foods other than 1,2,or 3 finger poi.
The six things I could never do without
Well, there are seven of them.....my grandchildren aged 2 - 10 yr old.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Those seven and their parents. My upcoming trips. The political situation.....I'm a political moderate eschewing either extremes.