35 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in San Antonio, moved to the Bay Area for college, and never left.

(What, you wanted more than a sentence? Check out my other sections -- I probably wrote too much there.)
What I’m doing with my life
Taken as the cliche opener of countless conversations to mean "Where do [I] work?": I create software that helps people at large organizations make better decisions given the huge amounts of data available to them. It's a pretty cool and ambitious goal, and I love my job and my coworkers.

Taken as "What do [I] do outside of work?": explore San Francisco, the Bay Area, and beyond: both indoors (museums, restaurants, concerts), and outdoors (trails, sports stadiums, scary bike lanes). Hang out with friends. Eat. Sleep. "Have fun". Ok, I'm done being cliche now.

Taken teleologically: not sharing that here.
I’m really good at
reading while on moving vehicles, quoting movies, capturing life in photos, and not blackmailing people with said photos.

Other strengths available upon request.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Shared affinities for books, movies, music, and food do not necessarily mean people will get along. You probably knew that, but it's worth mentioning since these seem to come up more often and quickly online than when people meet in person.

Books: just about anything, but especially classic literature, historical fiction, humor, religion, and science fiction. Favorite authors -- at least by number of readings of their books -- include Isaac Asimov, Dave Barry, Orson Scott Card, C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, Neal Stephenson, and Bill Watterson. (Franklin W. Dixon is disqualified on account of being a pen name used by several different writers, as my teenaged self was horrified to discover.)

Movies: a wide variety. I haven't gotten my Netflix queue count under 100 in years.

Music: Ironically, I minored in music but don't listen to it much -- at least not recorded. I prefer live music, where I can devote my full attention (or at least as much as I want) to the music, to listening while I'm trying to do something else. Generally, I like anything with a trumpet best since I play that.

Food: I will eat just about anything, but I've also been known to plan trips around specific restaurants and meals.
The six things I could never do without
Using the elementary-school definition of a "thing" as a noun that isn't a person, place, or idea, and eliminating things essential to human life like water, food, and shelter:

1. books
2. computer, for communicating, entertaining, learning, and writing
3. glasses
4. iPhone, for just about everything -- even occasionally making calls
5. photos
6. sandals. socks are lame but occasionally necessary.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
* what to learn and where to explore next
* how best to invest my time and money
* how technology is changing the way people interact, learn, etc.
* whether referees are legally blind
On a typical Friday night I am
not doing anything this guy would do: http://www.lookatmystripedshirt.com/articleLAMSS.asp

But seriously: sometimes working late so I can enjoy my weekend, sometimes attending a concert or comedy performance, sometimes hanging out with friends, etc.
You should message me if
you want to. (Seems obvious, no?) But I don't want a new penpal, so unless there's a good chance we could actually meet (presumably in or near San Francisco), I won't respond.