ephraim91
47 Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
ephraim91
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Transplanted New Yorker (most recently via five years in L.A.) who enjoys running, playing/watching sports, TiVo, movies, reading, and writing sentences without subjects. Relish both high and low culture, the latter without guilt. I moved to Chicago two summers ago.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm the Co-Founder of an Internet start-up in the realm of movies/TV/books. I've been doing this for three years now, and it's a mix of exciting and terrifying. Definite high-wire act. Until this new-ish opportunity I was a comedy writer for TV/film in L.A. for five years. Before that, I was a longtime sportswriter, and a long-ago investment banker. I believe I have now covered my entire resume.
I’m really good at
Folding clothes; I worked at The Gap during high school. There was a time when I was arguably the finest folder of jeans on the entire East Coast. Yes, I am happy to demonstrate. No, I don't actually think this will impress you. (Though if only you saw me in action...)
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm paler than most folks who live right by the beach. (Chicago update: I no longer live a few hundred yards from the Pacific Ocean, but I'm only a few blocks from the Lake, which apparently people in Chicago call "the beach," though I'm not entirely sure why. Perhaps you can explain?)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV: Modern Family, Mad Men, HBO shows (espec. Game of Thrones, Silicon Valley, Veep, The Wire, Curb, Deadwood), Friday Night Lights, Louie, Drunk History, Parks & Rec, Amazing Race, Daily Show
Movies: Midnight Run, Shawshank Redemption, Die Hard, Princess Bride, many others
Books: Michael Connelly novels, crime/thrillers, Hunger Games, Game of Thrones; though spend more time reading magazines, especially The New Yorker and Sports Illustrated, the latter being where I worked for nine years
Music: Lots, including Top 40, and yes I sing along in the car dammit (Chicago update: I don't have a car anymore, but I sing along to my iPod when doing dishes)
Food: Yes please
The six things I could never do without
1. Saucony running shoes
2. Snow peas
3. Sports (as fan and participant)
4. Something to read
5. Spoiling my niece and nephews
6. TiVo (sorry, ran out of "S" words)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The weather, and whether I'm dressed for it.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes out with friends, sometimes on a date, sometimes working through the DVR backlog. Why, would you like to get together?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't like feet.
You should message me if
You want to get married and have kids and you think there's even a remote chance you'd consider doing so with me. If nothing else, I guarantee a few laughs; I have solid first-date material.
More