erika_koga
30 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
erika_koga
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm 30 and a long-time resident of this area. I grew up nearby in NJ and moved to the city a couple years ago. I love that despite that, there is still so much more to explore here! Every day is a new experience for me and I enjoy every bit of it.

I'm married and have a daughter. No, I'm not on here cheating -- my husband and I just have an open relationship. No-strings-attached fun times are cool, but I also like to get to know people and make some new friends!
What I’m doing with my life
Day-to-day, I do Graphic Design for a firm in Midtown Manhattan full-time, and my colleagues are like family to me.

I also design jewelry, t-shirts, and accessories to sell at fleas and stuff. It gets busy!

My lifelong passion, though, is nature and travel. I'm a big-time fan of anything that has to do with wildlife and zoology.
I’m really good at
Being a partner in crime (or exploration). Is there an abandoned house or beach somewhere you want to check out at 5 in the morning in the middle of nowhere in Brooklyn? I'll be there!

I also am good at listening to and sharing stories. I love listening to other peoples' travel-related stories in particular. Physical stuff I'm good at? Swimming! And hiking. I can't wait til the summer, can you tell? :)

And of course, there are creative things I'm good at, like illustration, cooking, and baking.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm kind of quiet. But I open up pretty easily after the first few minutes (and a drink, maybe) -- but then they'll probably see that I'm pretty blunt. I'm not a very bubbly person, though I'm no debbie downer; I tend to have a fairly dark sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read a lot of nonfiction and am (sadly) kind of clueless about classics. I gobble up books on animal behavior like candy! I also read a lot of books about social justice and feminism.

Some contemporary books I've enjoyed lately and over the years have been by (fiction) Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, Phillip Pullman, (nonfiction and essay) David Sedaris, John Krakauer, Lac Su, Howard Zinn, Jay Kirk, Anne Fadiman and Mary Roach.
I grew up reading stories by Ernest Thompson Seton, which were one of the things that made me into a nature nerd...and the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle.

Movies: Again, not that knowledgeable when it comes to classics, but I do love them; particularly ones that are visually well-executed. Lately I enjoyed The Life of Pi, The Master, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Melancholia, The Orphanage, Princess Mononoke, and Pan's Labyrinth. Some of my absolute favorite movies have been by Tarsem Singh. The Fall, in particular, is a masterpiece.
I love documentaries and indie movies as well; there are way too many I love to list them. I do enjoy a fun movie now and again! Anchorman or Jurassic Park, anyone?

TV: Lately I'm addicted to RuPaul's Drag Race. Also Breaking Bad/Better Call Saul and House of Cards. Past shows I've loved have been The IT Crowd (and everything done by the cast -- Snuffbox, Garth Marenghi's Darkplace, Mighty Boosh...)
Surprise, surprise -- my hero is Sir David Attenborough, and I am obsessed with all of his nature documentaries.

Music: The list will be too long. I have a super eclectic taste, anywhere from hip-hop (old-school AND new-school, thank you very much) to indie, to electro, to musical theater. Yes, I do love love karaoke.

Food: I HAVE NO LIMITS. Except maybe raw onions and celery. I can be picky about stuff I've tried already, but I'd try anything once.
The six things I could never do without
1. The ability to travel
2. My family
3. A sketchpad
4. Good food
5. Summer (the season)
6. My phone, due to my shit sense of direction
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I want to go next.
On a typical Friday night I am
On a typical night: I'm at home hanging out with the family, watching a movie and cooking. Working on a few projects, probably.

When I go out: KARAOKE! Drinks, dancing, all that fun stuff.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have no idea how to answer this...uh. I had a dream recently wherein I had sex with John Waters?
You should message me if
You are adventurous and interested! I have no racial preferences and don't care about income. I would recommend against messaging me if you are not politically liberal or left-of center.

Oh, and if you have an Asian fetish (as in, you see me not as an individual but as a representative of my race) please don't contact me.
More