32Rowlett, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am currently a grad student at Midwestern State University, and I really enjoying my time there thus far. I have profound weaknesses for good books, foreign languages (especially Slavic ones), and really smooth music. I am a sucker for a nice bass line, what can I say? I am not an overly-cheery sort of person, but I do have a good time in my own way. Although I have never been one with a great number of friends, my friends mean a great deal to me. I will do everything that I can to be there if a friend needs me. I am a rather quiet person, and I generally prefer listening to talking, especially in situations with new people. Once I get to know someone, however, it can often be difficult to get me to stop talking (especially if I get the chance to speak Russian with someone). I try my best everyday to be a better person. Although most of my college education has focused on history, I am actually quite fond of all things science as well. That being said, I'm not one of those who treat the terms history and science interchangeably. Yes, I am a nerd.

I am back in the Dallas area (Rowlett specifically) for the larger part of the summer time (Hence the location change on my profile from Wichita Falls to Rowlett). While I go to school in Wichita Falls, Rowlett is still home to me.

I also think dinosaurs are really neat.

Привет! Меня зовут Хантер. Я учился в университете Оклахомы пол год назад, но теперь я аспирант в Средо-западном Государством Университете в Техасе. Мой главный придмет- история. В Оклахоме, Я также изучал русский язык (конечно!). Я родился в Далласе, Техасе, а моя семья ещё живёт там. Значит, что я часто там в гостях когда у меня есть каникули. Я просто люблю группу КИНО. Цой жив! Я часто читаю русские книги и смотрю русские фильмы. (Чебурашка- мой друг!) Я люблю хоккей, а мой любимый русский хоккейный клуб- ЦСКА. Меня интересует история России, Югославии, а восточной Европы в обще. По-моему, я простой человек и хороший друг.

I am smooth, classy, and reliable
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently working on my masters in History, and hopefully I will eventually complete my doctorate in the same field. With that I will either teach History in college or teach at the high school level. As of right now, I am investigating the possibility of focusing on Eastern European immigrants in Texas. I recently began research on Czech communities in Texas. I am planning on combining my work on the Czechs with what I did on Polish communities in Texas last semester for my masters thesis. I now have a year of masters work under my belt, and I am thoroughly enjoying the entire process. I also teach a discussion section of a freshman US History class. I am love teaching and feel very fortunate to get such great hands-on teaching experience.
I’m really good at
I've got the whole reading thing down. I also like to spend time improving my writing skills. I am often asked to edit friends' papers, and, since they keep asking me to do so, I suppose I can do a rather good impression of an editor.

I also believe that I am good at listening to friends and helping them resolve their problems and/or just feel better about themselves in general.

I am also quite adept at saying random things in random languages.

The other day a friend told me I have a good singing voice. I most certainly have no qualms with singing along to a song I really dig.
The first things people usually notice about me
They usually notice that I am pretty tall and that I am a rather low-key person, but other than that I am not really sure. I do have really dark eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
As far as books are concerned, I love The Good Soldier Svejk (I still think it is pretty much the best book ever), The Bridge on the Drina, The Inspector General, The Captain's Daughter, The Bronze Horseman, Oblomov, Crime and Punishment, The Brothers Karamazov, and War and Peace, House Made of Dawn, The Oklahoma Basic Intelligence Test.

As far as music goes, I can't get enough Steely Dan, Doobie Brothers, КИНО, Tool, Weezer Dwight Yoakam, Pink Floyd, The Cars, The Eagles, Journey, Kiss, and 70s music in general. Oh yeah, Dethklok is pretty cool stuff, too.

My taste in movies is a bit unorthodox. I have watched so many Russian movies in my various Russian classes, that really many of them are my favorites. I have also probably watched more movies in Russian over the past few years then movies in English. Русский ковчег (Russian Ark), Джентльмены удачи (Gentlemen of Fortune), Осенний марафон (Autumn Marathon), Ирония судьбы, или С лёгким паром!(Irony of Fate), Летят журавли (The Cranes are Flying) are some of my favorite Russian movies. My favorite movies in English are Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Redneck Zombies (I have a soft spot for ridiculous horror movies), UHF, The Spongebob Squarepants Movie, Mitchell, Pee-Wee's Big Adventure, Short Circuit, and Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan.

If I have some good Tex-Mex food, I am a happy fellow. Italian, Greek, Arabic, Chinese, Thai, and Vietnamese are also quite tasty.
Six things I could never do without
1. My family 2. My friends 3. Literacy 4. Hockey 5. Sleep 6. Really smooth music
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Whatever history paper I am currently writing. I also always have song or other playing in my head. Said song is usually either in English or Russian, but there are no guarantees.

I also think about where I am going to be in the future. I am hoping to possibly work my way to a doctorate in history and eventually get married and have a family of my own. I am just hoping I can continue to make the cut as far as school goes and that someday I can finally find that special someone.

I also like to imagine what it will be like when the Rangers finally win the World Series.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends and doing whatever it is that we do. It is almost always something completely random. If not, I could be reading, kicking back and listening to music, or even getting some work done. If there is a hockey game in town or on tv (especially if it is the Stars), you can bet that I will be there.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
People tend to think that I am quiet or more than a bit detached at first, and I can understand why they would think that. As a result, I have been consciously working on handling my shyness as best I can. I do believe that I am improving, but it hasn't always been easy.
You should message me if
If you want to for whatever reason. I am still fairly new to the area, and I am most certainly up for meeting new friends.

Вы тоже говорите по-русски!
The two of us