54 Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My daughter now lives in the world where the president of the US thinks it's ok for guys to "grab her by the pussy". If that's ok with you, i don't want to know you.
What I’m doing with my life
Parenting teens, reading, cooking, walking the dog, sailing, working, travelling, working out, ignoring the housework, saving the world. Not necessarily in that order.
I'm optimistic, open-minded (I’d love to experience what interests you!), positive, and outgoing. I like to entertain and hang with friends, I spend time outdoors when I can, but am happy to nest through our winters. I thrill to real weather. I'd rather love and lose than not love at all. Mostly I want life to be interesting!
I have two kids - both in college. Needless to say they have been a big part of my life, but we’re also moving into a new phase of inter-independence.
I’m really good at
Rambling at night under the light of the moon, lying in the grass and pointing out the stars, enjoying a spring day. Building fires, making pancakes, stir-fry. Fixing things, listening, putting my foot in my mouth, sailing, hiking, messing around with boats
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Whatever it is, it has to be interesting. Life is too short to narrow list down to a list of favorites.
Here are some of the things I do find myself reading/ drinking/ eating/ listening to/ immersed in: Huffpo, Slate, The Moth, Snap Judgement. Neruda, Defoe, Mccullough. Beer, scotch, whiskey sours. Curry, Mexican, Indian, Thai, Southwestern Cuisine. Live music, jazz singers, Ben Folds, Alan Parsons, Sara Bareilles, Bowie, Dire Straights, Santana, Steely Dan, Guild League, Chris Merritt, Willie Wisely, GIlbert & Sullivan. Oceans, mountains, forests, islands. Spring & Fall.
The six things I could never do without
Wok, curry, sailboats, airplanes, love. That's five, but one must focus.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The sorry state of leadership in this country.
On a typical Friday night I am
3/4 - fish fry with friends, then VO5 at Monona Terrace.
3/11-Spent some time writing and then chatting with friends at the Weary Traveller.
3/18 dinner and a game of euchre with my daughter at Next Door Brewery
3/25 made pasta primavera for my son and his girlfriend, then had a bottle of wine with an old dear friend from out of town.
4/1 Sitting on a deck by a lake in the Andes trying to finish a poem I started the last time I was here.
4/8 Suffering through a bout of food poisoning on an overnight flight. I seriously do not recommend this.
4/15 Sushi!
4/22 sanding the bottom of my boat.
4/29 Microbrew crawl with my Sister and Brother in law! Visited 5 of Madison's microbrews, got a little pissed!
5/6 Gallery night tour with a few friends, rounded out the night at the Ohio.
5/27 getting ready for my dinner party Sunday night!
8/19 Looking for a curry in Pitlochry, Scotland
8/26 Down on the terrace with my dog.
9/2 camping in Banff with my daughter and her friend.
9/16 Sailing on lake Clinton in Illinois.
You should message me if
I'm a reasonably attractive, reasonably smart, reasonably funny, reasonably fit, reasonably well employed guy looking for the same in a woman about my age who lives nearby. So I'd like to hear from you if you consider yourself flexible and interesting, know how to enjoy life and like to spend time outdoors.