36Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Doin the whole life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness thing. Born & raised in Long Island by two loving parents, and mentally abused by two older sisters. Always worked hard in school and found time for sports and arts. Got a science/engineering education and then an MBA part time, ran a marathon, broke my leg, picked up playing tennis, worked even more, burned out, started a small business, taught myself contruction, wrote a self summary about myself.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm trying to make my business succeed while continuing to enjoying the city, and hopefully i can share my experiences and create some news ones with somebody...
I’m really good at
Listening and hopefully giving good advice. Fixing things and figuring stuff out DIY style Eg, replaced my iphone dock when i dropped my phone in yogurt, resoldered new capacitors in my iMac, I'm practically an electrician having installed hundreds of outlets and have done multiple plumbing lines, a boiler and HVAC. What else... In one day I can bike all 5 boroughs of the city. What else am I overly proud of myself about... Figuring out what ingredients went into the processed foods at the supermarket - you don't need me, I guess, if you shop at whole foods. I like explaining science for you to get it and if you appreciate hearing my science ramblings, that's good. If you can further the discussion- that's even better. Can hit a bulls-eye in darts- I can play you for money, or some other dare ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
As I approach you'll notice my red cheeks, and as i leave you'll notice my butt cheeks.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: I'd say anything including Woody Allen or Bill Murray: Sleeper and What About Bob are classics; Monty Python's Meaning of Life; I enjoy a good action movie or suspense any day. I was a fan of the UCB theater from day 1, but I got overloaded on improv and now I go to see a show now and then. I took classes but it requires too much commitment (no pun intended.. you have to 'commit' to your character. ha ha.) I'm a food scientist, so am a decent cook. I love thai food, probably because of the sugar in a lot of their sauces. I spent a month in Taiwan and two weeks in Japan, so I got into their cuisines (I love me some shabu-shabu.) I am addicted to Call of Duty, so I don't allow myself to own the game. I have a friend who brings it over and we kill each other. I'm a nerd and like reading about science, and I've been learning about Arduino programming. History novels are good as well, but I currently just read the WSJ every day. I want to read either facts or something funny, at least at this stage in my life. Music: Johnny Cash is the man. I'll sing any of his songs Karaoke, some by heart. I really dig Ratatat. I found I like some Jazz, like Lou Donaldson. 5 years ago I loved Arcade Fire, and now I can't listen to a single song. It's the old stuff that you don't get (nearly as) tired of. Also, I just realized I still know by heart, word for word, every They Might Be Giants song between about 1989 and 1999... deep down I'm still a nerd. Not even that deep :)
Six things I could never do without
The six things I could never do without:
This question makes everyone sound overly dependent on material things and technology... I'll answer it as "six material things I like:":
(1) iPhone (2) Wikipedia (3) Excel (I know... dork) (4) Steak (I friggin love steak, not that I don't like rice and veggies, but you can't beat a medium rare cut) (5) Tennis (a healthy but serious addiction) (6) My girl... talkin 'bout my girl :)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm mainly thinking about work, but I'd like to have kids eventually. I think I'm done with casual dating.
On a typical Friday night I am
Meeting up with my 9-5 friends, hopefully in my hood (the East Village :)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a terrible swimmer - I had to take a swim class in college in order to graduate (requirement was to swim 3 lengths of the pool. I passed! I find I get water in my ears really easily and it won't come out for weeks, so I need earplugs. I'd like to get better. I've done snorkeling, so I'm not afraid of water, but I have a life-sustaining respect for the deep :)
The two of us