35Sullivan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm absolutely not sure I'm looking for anything serious on here. I would love to meet some fellow free spirits, freethinkers, weirdos and the like for friendship and perhaps friendship on a deeper level.

I'm not really a social person. I'm quite awkward as perceived by others who do not know me well.
I prefer my woods, beaches, fields, and hobbit hole, animal friends (CATS), and a few human friends to pop in and visit occasionally. I have two young sons who live with me at home, but I don't let parenthood define me.

I consider myself an artist, which means I'm both resourceful and poor.
Nature and the open air are most important to me, and I prefer to be near bodies of water. Going inland makes me nervous. I did grow up on an island, after all.
I've so many hobbies, there's never a dull moment- always lists of things, adding to the stacks of books - art, gardens, things to be identified, bones to be picked, genealogy to unravel, history to fawn over, swapping to be done, plants to be watered. I spend my days in a childlike wonder, which I think to be a good thing in today's world. I'm surrounded by old things, as I love old things, and colors.

Mostly, I'd like to meet new friends of like minds for friendship, fun, conversation (writing). I'm terribly honest, I tell no lies, but I am open-minded so that it's not a problem unless you're not a match for my likes. I'd love to have a girlfriend, in more ways than one. I'd love to have a dude friend - my best friends were always dudes, usually older. I definitely appreciate maturity. Gimme some truth.
**I feel it is important to note here that I don't like party scenes or meeting in bars. I don't do well in crowds or lots of noise. I also don't drink alcohol (excepting the occasional spit of wine- love the taste but two sips and I'm wacky- is this an allergy?).

I have a nice enough face, and a big body. I am no small thing. I am strong, and suited to working in the garden or woods, I have a strong back and am a very even keel (though I can be terribly clumsy physically). I love to live in the now, to love and thus live. Nothing bad, no baggage, I just want easy going times and peace in nature.

Of the Enneagram 9 types, I am a type 5. And it fits me all too well!
What I’m doing with my life
I roll with the seasons, I stay in the now. I don't hang on the past. I don't enjoy it when others are hung up on their pasts. Primarily, at the moment, raising two young sons. Being a mother does not define me; I'm not a slave to it, nor do I gripe about it. My boys are great - handsome lads and wildly different from each other in personalities.
I’m really good at
Singing. Drawing, painting, upcycling. I'm good at antiques appraisals, fossil hunting, cleaning toilets, brushing cats. Websites, nature photography, research of any kind. Awesome cook of gluten free anything. Really, I must say I'm an absolutely awesome cook. I'm good at listening, and writing. I have a photographic memory. Homesteading suits me. Good at identifying flowers, plants, moths, birds. Foraging. Good at digging clams, fishing, canoeing, hiking, swimming.
I'm also an excellent dickerer, as many Mainers are. It's a way of life.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't talk much. I see with my eyes but I don't make eye contact. My accent is strange at times, and people think I'm foreign when I'm on the island, which can make for interesting social experiments.
Also, my blatant disregard for the rules of fashion. I'm of the Bohemian gypsy style, have only ever worn long skirts and flowing things, not the greatest at color schemes, but great at being comfortable in my own skin. People also like to talk about my nose ring (is it so strange?).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love nonfiction, biographies, history. Classical literature- Thoreau, Hardy, Waugh, Nietzsche, Henry James, Goethe.
For movies, I love O Brother, Where Art Thou? , absolutely anything by Terry Gilliam or Werner Herzog...Amadeus is an all time favorite. Leningrad Cowboys, Dead Man, many more.

As far as music goes, I love a lot and like even more.
Mostly classical- Beethoven is my homeboy with the constant eargasms, Chopin tickles me in the right spots, Mozart is a fun friend to have around. I also love Dvorak, Smetana, Wagner, Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky; for piano I love Schumann, Schubert, Liszt. Earlier music is special to me as well, like Palestrina, earlier works of Handel, Bach, and Elizabethan music ROCKS!
Philip Glass is great for intense periods of research (which I do spend a lot of time doing).
I do love opera, but arias and excerpts, as full length operas frustrate me for the most part (except for a few of Mozart's). I like to sing along.
For stuff with drum beats, I am very fond of Moody Blues, Talking Heads, Waterboys, Beatles (Lennon stuff, and George's too), I enjoy a lot from every decade since rock music's been around. I like regional music, folk music, Acadian music, fiddling, Scots/Irish, steel drums, things from all over. I DO NOT LIKE REGGAE. So there's that.
Paul Simon (and Garfunkel), Leningrad Cowboys, certain old, old Broadway shows, Patti Smith Group, more, more, I'm too tired right now.

Food: I have celiac disease, so gluten is right out. Luckily, am an awesome cook and baker. I love Japanese and Indian food. Cheese and chocolate.
Six things I could never do without
The ocean and water; Music; plants from which to breathe; writing as a means of communication; chocolate, a cat.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think about my dreams - nighttime adventures whilst sleeping. I have lucid dreams, and vivid dreams, and remember most of them, so that sometimes half the waking day's mood is dictated by whatever I did in dreamland the night prior.
I also think about my homestead, and trying to get things done with literally no budget- the many projects I look forward to.
I think about food a lot. I love good food.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home. I don't go to parties or clubs. Friday for me means relaxing more than anything else! Also, staying up late doing weird little things with art, wallowing with the cats, maybe watching something on the Roku.
In warmer months, bonfires or campfires are awesome. I live in the woods by the ocean, and love it as opposed to city night life. Sitting around a fire on the beach, with music, stories, or meditation. Playing Scrabble, Monopoly...
I also like going bowling, or playing pool. At quiet places. I haven't had anyone take me to do either in the better part of a decade.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm predisposed to being nude, but that's hardly a private thing.
You should message me if
Derp. Just write! No one ever writes! I love carrying on e-mail conversations.
The two of us