31 Tucson, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Raised in Southern California, I escaped as soon as it was time to go to college. Unfortunately, I escaped to Minnesota where I was held as winter prisoner for four years while I divided my time between video games, drunken political debates, and learning Japanese. After college it was off to hipster paradise (Portland,OR) and helping kids in AmeriCorps for a year, then a brief return home (Los Angeles,CA), then a year teaching English outside of Tokyo.

Now I live in Tucson where I teach at a Montessori School.

I am intelligent, nerdy, and social
What I’m doing with my life
Teaching 9-12 year-olds and: biking, listening to NPR, watching Japanese movies, reading comics, playing video games and trying to pick up new, useless hobbies.
I’m really good at
Mario Kart, teaching, hanging out with kids, charming old people, and quoting Star Wars. I can also do that thing where I make a noise with my mouth that sounds like dripping water.
The first things people usually notice about me
EYEBROWS (and sometimes mustache if I'm in that sort of mood)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: Haruki Murakami, Ray Bradbury, Garrison Keillor, and Roald Dahl.
Directors: Beat Takashi, Chan-wook Park, Wong Kar Wai, and Alfonso Cuarón.
Bands: Spoon, Hot Chip, Bon Iver, and Beirut
NPR: Radiolab, All Things Considered, This American Life, and Wait Wait Don't Tell Me.
TV: Freaks and Geeks, Fringe, Eastbound and Down, SuperJail!, and Arrested Development.
The six things I could never do without
- the internet
- science fiction
- Japan
- wikipedia
- my bike
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Childhood vs Adulthood. Comfort vs Adventure. Idealism vs Practicality. Space. Infinity. Values. Socialism. Originality.
On a typical Friday night I am
If its cold out I'm definitely indoors with my buddies, watching episodes of whatever, drinking one bottle of something tasty and then a few more of something cheap, and debating whatever we just read/heard about.
If it's warm, hopefully I'm out and about, seeing a show, and shaking a leg or two, but I'm probably inside playing video games.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Musicals. Love them. Used to be in them.
You should message me if
I'm looking to make some friends here in Tucson. I'm always on the lookout for: a bike buddy, a video game buddy (n64 proficient. its on!), a drinking buddy (I'm an IPA man and bar trivia is the bee's knees) and a dance buddy (whoever looks at their shoes the longest wins).