frankw_
37 Sion, Netherlands
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
frankw_
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an active, funny, generally enthusiastic guy. I like stepping out of my comfort zone and trying new things when the opportunity presents itself.
What I’m doing with my life
Sporty activity of all kinds is important to me. I've done krav maga, am improving my running, do some cycling and swimming on the side, and I'm open to pretty much anything new in that regard.

I like to travel, though I don't do it neatly often enough. New people, unfamiliar cities, strange languages and cultures, I love it. Touring in Thailand, hiking in Slovenia, scuba diving in Egypt... Great places and fun times, all in their own way.
I’m really good at
Making things, or learning how. Whether it's using practical skills like woodworking or electronics, or more theoretical skills like programming. I can't do everything, but I enjoy learning anything.

Conversing about many different topics. I'm pretty bad at dancing, but good at enjoying myself doing it. So that's good I guess 😊
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I mainly read speculative fiction (Sci-fi, fantasy and everything in between). Favorite sub-genres include epic fantasy (Song of Ice and Fire, Tales of the Malazan Book of the Fallen, Wheel of Time, for example) and hard science fiction (Vernor Vinge's books, Arthur C. Clarke). I won't say no to a good fun space opera though (Vorkosigan saga, for example) and have recently fallen in love with The Dresden Files.

I like shows like Dexter, House MD, Battlestar Galactica, Breaking Bad and other shows where you can expend some thought, see characters develop, and be assured of generally good writing. I also like Doctor Who, Firefly, Archer and such lighter-hearted shows.

My taste in music tends to wander. I can happily go from hard rock to country to some JPop song (if rare) to classical to dubstep, depending on my mood.
The six things I could never do without
Internet access, friends, good food, warmth, sports, together time, alone time.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Pfft, too much. Politics. Religious diversity. Computer science problems. Romance. Geo-political stability. Things to do today/tonight/this weekend/this year. All the things I feel I should be doing but aren't.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday afternoon I'm in a pub with some friends, Friday night I'm frequently doing something with those same friends, or tinkering in the house with some project. Nothing set in stone.
You should message me if
...you're looking for a good time. Wink or nudge not intended. I like talking to interesting new people, or meeting new people, listening to music somewhere, having a few drinks. If there is something there, well, we can talk about that later.
More