35Woodstock, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Stoner, Muslim-ish Deist, libertarian, practising and very enthusiastic capitalist, Austrian economist, Ron Paul fan, typical INTP.

Faithfully/happily married & with a stable job; it's awesome having less people to impress, you should see how bad my hair looks these days. Also, all my pictures are at least 5 years out of date. Whatever, I'm married.

I am eclectic, introspective, and capitalistic.
What I’m doing with my life
Rookie father, full-time grocery store grunt, small-time absentee landlord. Recently went to night shift & am shocked at how much I love it - I'm used to hating my jobs, but no bosses, no customers, ipod & a small number of males with no audience. Good fun. Own one fourplex & one triplex in Chatham, a small house in Woodstock that I occupy &, most recently, a rental house in Leamington, which I hope to one day make my Ontario base of personal & economic operations.

My wife & I both work in Kitchener, my hometown, but she lost her job two weeks after informing me of her pregnancy & I can't afford a house there on my own - thus, Woodstock. Was hoping she'd get a new job in Woodstock or London, but she got one in Kitchener. At least the Woodstock house is cheap enough that I can rent it out when I'm done with it.

Some years back I made peace with the fact that I'm unlikely to get rich working. I have no technical skills & hate sit-down jobs. My bus license is my only qualification. Therefore, I hope to continually acquire rental property & relocate my family to warmer, slower Uruguay from the proceeds. Get a few acres & practice permaculture. I have land hunger. I'm kinda short on merit, as an employee. I'm betting on assets. If our first (& currently only) born turns 10 here, then Uruguay's off until whoever's born last graduates. Apparently they're subject to something called 'Expat Child Syndrome' (a general feeling of rootlessness) if moved during pubescence. So if we don't make it there in time, I plan to leverage the equity from the properties to buy a small business. I don't particularly enjoy punching in & out.

Was adopted as a newborn & met my biological family @ 27/28 years of age. We keep in touch.

Have been having trouble fitting swimming, my favourite sport, into my new Woodstock routine.

Like to read - traditionally non-genre novels, history (New World in particular), anarcho-capitalist, libertarian, free market & classic liberal economics. &, most recently, parenting.
I’m really good at
Have a good verbal memory, have @ least gotten better @ swimming.
The first things people usually notice about me
If I'm not @ work, I'm usually stoned & as often as not dressed somewhat casually for my age, usually in hip-hop or 'thug' fashion. It's well made, generously sized & it makes me look so dangerous. Also, I'm soft-spoken, well read & have a good general knowledge, the thug wear helps me surprise people with it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
a) A Suitable Boy, The Chosen, The Promise, Between the Bridge & the River, Eddie's Bastard, Rockbound, Gone with the Wind, Trinity, Exodus, Kara Kush, Tightrope Passage, In Defense of Global Capitalism, As I Lay Dying, Light in August, For a New Liberty, most P.J. O'Rourke selections, of which I've read about half. Holidays in Heck sucked, though.

Have also been reading parenting books for obvious reasons - Some for technical advice like 'The Happiest Baby on the Block', 'On Becoming Babywise' & 'Secrets of the Baby Whisperer'. Sidenote - attachment parenting ain't happening. Then others that approach general parenting philosophy such as John Gray's 'Children are from Heaven' (it's very poorly proofread, obviously rushed & written by a shameless whore, but it checks out nevertheless.), 'Children: The Challenge', 'How to talk to Kids will listen & listen so Kids will talk'. Much less nervous for having read them.

Also have a thing for travelogues - so for that there's P.J. O'Rourke & David Lamb's 'The Africans'. Have a few others on my shelf but haven't gotten to them yet. I've been reading more about Africa this year. One of those things where the more you read about it the less you realize you know - kinda like Russia, another favourite subject of mine. I read on break at work & at home when I remember to. I like the clearance sections of used book stores & tend to buy at least 3 at a time. There's a store in town that sells 6 for $5. I like that store. It's where I bought 'Eddie's Bastard' which was a really good fucking book.

Also recently acquired a tablet, which I'm sure will save me a tonne of money (not to mention space, the family bookshelf is huge & it's mostly mine).

b) Adaptation, the Barbarian Invasions, Monsoon Wedding, City of God, Friends with Money, Lovely & Amazing, Walking & Talking. 'Please Give' was alright, but it's high time Nicole Holofcener made another movie. Have been watching more TV series than movies these days - mostly The Wire (greatest ever), My So-Called Life (close second), Tremé (off to a good start), Sons of Anarchy (1st two seasons were good, anyway. Now I just watch it for the sake of matrimonial tradition, my wife still loves it), It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Community, South Park, the Boondocks, the Simpsons (older ones, anyway, haven't seen a new one in years) & Parks & Recreation. Also like travel shows, even though I don't travel, in the interests of advancing our permanent relocation.

c) Ryan Adams, Otis Redding, R.L. Burnside, Matt Mays, Lynn Blakey, Emmylou Harris, Holly McNarland, Tool, Dethklok (for a fictional band, they're really, really good), Rascalz & other random higher-quality hip hop, Children of Bodom, the Streets, Tres Chicas, old country & blues. Most, but not all, of my music choices could be described as 'quiet'. In music as in conversation, I find that people with points to make don't need to shout. Bunch of others coming & going. Country (real or alt-country, not bubblegum country) & soul are my two favourite types of music, otherwise I'll listen to anything except '70s prog-rock, '80s new-wave, bubblegum country, flat-out teen pop, nu-metal or emo. Besides those, just about anything goes.

d) I've been doing most of my own cooking recently - so currently baked ziti, chow mein, colcannon, rice & beans & stoner munchies as always. Also started doing my own baking - cheaper that way. I like meat but often cook without it. Again, cheaper that way. I'm a frugal motherfucker.
Six things I could never do without
1) God

2) Income

3) Entertainment. Of the non-fluff variety.

4) Love

5) A reasonable & sustainable amount of solitude. Too much company makes me crazy.

6) Pot. God help me I do love it so.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Work, money, pot, politics, & how to turn all 4 to my advantage. Also, fatherhood.
On a typical Friday night I am
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I got busted in Germany for simple possession.
You should message me if
Knock yourself out, may or may not get a response. I'm just here for the tests & people-watching these days. 'I wonder who lives in Siberia.....'

Also, if you're from Uruguay & have advice for a young couple looking to move there, I'd love to here from you.
The two of us