54 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m sociable, playful, and affectionate by nature.
I love deep, intense discussions one on one, about topics such as politics, science, psychology and relationships. I equally love interacting with my friends at a party or a pub. Most people would say I'm an obvious extrovert, but one time I did a personality test and I was very close to the middle on the introvert-extrovert continuum.
Gardening is a favorite pastime of mine, as I have a fascination with flora, fauna and nature in general. I even indulge in night gardening from time to time, which happens when I can't stop gardening in the evening despite the waning light. I began another nature-oriented hobby a few years ago when my son and I put together a cold, saltwater aquarium populated with organisms from Oregon tide pools. We also had a warm water aquarium for a few years, and I'd like to get one going again.
Lately, I've taken up the captivating past time of mushroom hunting and joined the Oregon Mycological Society. Foraging for mushrooms in a light rain in a lush, drippy forest is one of my favorite things to do on a weekend day in the fall. In the winter, well, I mostly wait for the days to get long again, but while waiting, I'll go back-country or cross-country skiing, which is gorgeous and exhilarating.
I'm a DIY type. Now that one can Google stuff, I think I can do everything myself. I recently redid a kitchen mostly by myself, although I have to say I'm not great at electrical wiring.
The last few years, I've been on a mission to simplify my life, paring down my possessions and moving into a small house in a lovely, walkable neighborhood. I bike to work now. My car is the next thing to go, and I will try living carlessly (not carelessly)!
Several years ago, I discovered I have ADHD and suddenly many things made sense. For one thing, it caused me to be crazily physically fit. ( I could do 48 pushups, that's right, 48!) I used exercise as therapy, going to the gym for an hour every lunch time so that I could focus and work productively in the afternoon. After my diagnosis I started taking vyvanse, and suddenly I didn't want to interrupt my work at lunch time. The consequence has been that my career is thriving, but now I'm out of shape.
Television, I don't have one, as I find them annoying.
Travel, I'm addicted to it, and have lived in four countries on three continents. Last year, I lived in Bergen, Norway for three months.
I like exploration and discovery. I'm interested in art and am concerned with the aesthetics of my environment. I'm very appreciative of dance of all kinds (I especially like modern dance), and really enjoy dancing.
I read a lot.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a research scientist. I teach a bit too, but I'm much more passionate about my research. It's very rewarding intellectually, and I love the freedom of academic life.
In the coming year, I hope to wander a little farther down the path of personal discovery and growth.
I've come to realize that the only regrets I have thus far in life are things that I haven't done, and nothing that I have done (despite mistakes). So, I want to do more things!
I’m really good at
Lateral thinking and discovering connections and insights that are often overlooked by others. Motivating and inspiring others. Strong problem solving, trouble shooting skills. I'm very resilient and adaptable.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my energy, my perpetually messy gray hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Reading is one of my favorite past times, and when reading for pleasure, I prefer fiction. I like a range of genres from classic British lit like Jane Austen and EM Forster, to contemporary (mainly from US, Canada, UK, Australia). I'm quite a fan of well written Sci Fi/fantasy and futuristic stories. I also enjoy works that illuminate life in other parts of the world or other times in history.
Here are a few books that I read in the last few years: The Windup Girl, The Name of the Wind, Oryx and Crake, IQ84,.
Some contemporary authors that I favor: Salman Rushdie, Margaret Atwood, JK Rowling, Peter Carey, AS Byatt, Haruki Murakami, and more, but I can't remember all their names right now.

Music, my taste is pretty broad. I love rock, funk, blues, classical music. I have a thing for Eastern European folk music. Not so keen on country.

Food, I love it!
The six things I could never do without
Wilderness areas, art in my environment, modern anesthetics (so glad I didn't have to go to the dentist 200 yrs ago!), opportunities for experimentation and discovery, books, love n' friendship.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lately, I've been thinking a lot about politics, my research, the interplay between one's relationships and one's personal development, whether or not I should get therapy.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes at a bar/pub with friends. Sometimes at home reading, thinking, cooking, watching a movie, sometimes outside wandering about.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm an alien. There, I've said it. Feels good, actually. I will even go so far as to admit that I am British and Australian.
Also, I cut my own alien hair. (I realized some time ago that it's not a compliment if someone looks at you and says "Wow, do you cut your own hair?" I've got it down now though, and I'm pretty good at it.)
You should message me if
Message me if you think I sound interesting and if you get the impression that I'd find you interesting.
For the time being, I am interested in friendship. I like men who are highly intelligent and intellectual, creative, non-materialistic, and kind.