68Cabot, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a person who respects logic and rational thought and I do not believe in anything supernatural, though that was not always the case. I'm a Libra, and if you think that *really* matters, you can stop reading now.

I'm easy to live with, as I have had a mixed batch of family and friends living with me for extended periods. I presently live alone with my 3 dogs. I like having people around me, but shun those who like emotional drama.
I like spirited debates, but avoid arguments.

I am compassionate towards all creatures. I put food out daily for the birds and squirrels. I consider all life forms precious, except mosquitoes, ticks and chiggers.
Them SOBs can just die !

My interests have varied, from raising tropical fish, fixing old cars, remodeling homes, astronomy, skiing on snow and water, art (drawing and painting), designing and making jewelry, photography and philosophy to name a few.

I spend a lot of time reading, writing, playing with my dogs, working around the house and assisting neighbors with their projects. When I watch TV, I usually watch a BBC drama or documentary.

I support the local animal shelter with time and money.
I'm driven by compassion, kindness and generosity.

I had been active in and was a Board member of the Arkansas Society of Freethinkers. I describe myself as an agnostic atheist.
Agnostic because I don't believe anyone can settle the issue, with absolute certainty, whether there is a god, although the probability of there being a compassionate one seems nil to me.
Atheist because I am 100% certain that the gods described in the religious books I have read are figments of ancient people's creative imaginations.
I understand the benefits of belonging to a church that offers a person a sense of community and fellowship. But, if you placed a god at the top of the most important things in your life, you should pass me by.

I have several years of college, and pursued the subjects that interested me rather than a degree. I'd like to think that some day our species will be able to answer some of the big questions.

I have been separated for over two years from my wife. She has moved to Ohio, and we are pursuing a divorce.

I would like to make friends and keep the relationship platonic.

If you would like to see more pictures or ask me a question, send me an email. I have more info on my FB page.

What I’m doing with my life
I've been retired from AT&T since 1999, but I've kept busy by going back to school (no degree) and taking subjects that interested me and pursuing my other interests.
I have painted houses, repaired cars and done other small jobs to keep busy and make a little extra cash.
I read a lot of non-fiction and usually have 2-4 books I'm reading.
I like going for walks and playing with my dogs.
I’m really good at
I'm handy around the home and have done all major repair jobs, though I no longer do roofing.
I have not found an automotive problem I have not been able to fix.
I'm good at getting along with other people and as far as I know, I've been good at not making enemies.
I paint and draw quite well.
I think I'm pretty good at keeping a conversation going when meeting new people, and the people I have lived with.
I keep my head in tough situations, stay optimistic and I don't let the little stuff bother me.
The first things people usually notice about me
My white hair?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I've read so many books, it is hard to choose a favorite, but I have several favorite writers: Mark Twain, Emile Zola, Bishop Spong, Christopher Hitchens, Noam Chomsky, Karen Armstrong, Isaac Asimov Arthur C Doyle, Arthur C Clark to name a few.
The only music I don't like is the country western, my dog died, my wife left me, and I'm crying in my beer songs.
Neil Diamond, ABBA, The Bee Gees, Beethoven, Eagles, Alan Parsons Project, Tangerine Dream, Marshall Tucker are some of my favorite artists.
I prefer light comedy TV sitcoms, though I have been known to watch ER and I really like BBC MI5. I watch a lot of PBS, and have done some volunteer work for them.
I've enjoyed live Ballet and plays.
I like all foods, except liver, but my favorites are Thai and Mexican.
I make a pretty good Hungarian dish called Chicken Paprikash and a Thai soup called Tom Yum Goong.
My favorite sandwich is a BLT. though I've given up eating pork, so no more BLTs.
Six things I could never do without
Sunshine, friends, my dogs, books, my sanity and toilet paper.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
philosophical issues in between thinking about what to make for my next meal, and what the Hell am I doing in Arkansas?
On a typical Friday night I am
Home with my dogs or visiting a neighbor friend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a freethinker.
You should message me if
You would like to meet, talk, or go for dinner or just say "Hi".
The two of us